Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast

School of Veterinary Medicine
Teaching Awards

The teaching awards at the School of Veterinary Medicine are always presented during the annual Student Government Dinner Dance. This year the Franklin Institute was the venue and 250 students, faculty, and staff gathered to celebrate the Veterinary Medical Student Government Teaching Awards and awards given by the dean.

Dean Alan M. Kelly presented the Dean's Award for Leadership in Basic Sciences to Dr. Ronald Harty, assistant professor of microbiology. The Dean's Award for Leadership in Clinical Science was presented to Dr. Amy Kapatkin, assistant professor of surgery. These two awards honor one faculty member from the clinical departments and one from the basic science departments who have made outstanding contributions to teaching their disciplines.
Dr. Kenneth Drobatz, associate professor of critical care medicine, received the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teacher Award established in 1963 "to recognize outstanding teachers who, through their ability, dedication, character and leadership, contribute significantly to the advancement of the profession."

The four classes honored the faculty members they considered to be outstanding teachers.

The Class of 2002 presented awards to Dr. Corinne Sweeney, professor of medicine, and Dr. Amy Kapatkin, assistant professor of surgery. The Class of 2003 Award honored Dr. Patricia Sertich, associate professor of reproduction. Dr. Wilfried Weber, professor of pathology, received the Class of 2004 Award. The Class of 2005 presented an award to Dr. Robert Washabau, associate professor of medicine.

Dr. Corrine Sweeney was also presented with the Veterinary Medical Alumni Society Excellence in Teaching Award. This annual award is based on the recommendations of recent graduates and is funded by VMAS.

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 33, May 7, 2002


May 7, 2002
Volume 48 Number 33

A memorial gathering will be held at noon today, in remembrance of Shannon Shieber who was killed four years ago today.

This year's Perkins Award goes to a long-time member of the GSFA faculty.
The School of Veterinary Medicine awards to seven members of its faculty.
The Penn's Way 2002 campaign raised over $400,000.
Speaking Out on Bicyclists vs Pedestrians, and Convenience vs. Confidentiality.
Death of Dr. Frederic Roll, emeritus professor of civil engineering.
Reports from the Senate Committee on the Faculty as well as the Senate Committee on Administration, along with Procedures Regarding Misconduct in Research and Policy for Postdoctoral Fellows.
Two faculty are named to the National Academy of Sciences and one to AAAS.
The expanded PENNCard Policy covers emergency events.
The Three-Year Academic Calendar covers through 2004-2005.