Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast

GSFA's 2002 G. Holmes
Perkins Award: Dr. David De Long

The G. Holmes Perkins Award is given in recognition of distinguished teaching and innovation in the methods of instruction in the classroom, seminar, or studio to a faculty member in the Graduate School of Fine Arts. The award is named in honor of G. Holmes Perkins who served as Dean of the Graduate School of Fine Arts from 1951-1971, and was established by former Dean and Paley Professor Patricia Conway in 1993.

This year's recipient is Dr. David G. De Long, professor of architecture and of city and regional planning. He has been teaching American architectural history and theories of historic preservation at the Graduate School of Fine Arts since 1984. Dr. De Long was chair of the Graduate Group in Historic Preservation from 1984-1996 and GSFA's Associate Dean for Graduate Studies of Fine Arts from 1992-94. He is internationally recognized for his many contributions as historian and educator, author, preservationist, curator and designer.

Dr. De Long has been the recipient of a number of awards, including the Wyck-Strickland Award, given by the Ger-mantown-based Wyck Association to honor those who have made outstanding contributions in the fields of architecture and preservation "with an understanding of and sensitivity to the past." Dr. De Long will retire from the faculty at the end of this semester, but will continue to teach on a part-time basis. He is one of the newly emeritus faculty.

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 33, May 7, 2002


May 7, 2002
Volume 48 Number 33

A memorial gathering will be held at noon today, in remembrance of Shannon Shieber who was killed four years ago today.

This year's Perkins Award goes to a long-time member of the GSFA faculty.
The School of Veterinary Medicine awards to seven members of its faculty.
The Penn's Way 2002 campaign raised over $400,000.
Speaking Out on Bicyclists vs Pedestrians, and Convenience vs. Confidentiality.
Death of Dr. Frederic Roll, emeritus professor of civil engineering.
Reports from the Senate Committee on the Faculty as well as the Senate Committee on Administration, along with Procedures Regarding Misconduct in Research and Policy for Postdoctoral Fellows.
Two faculty are named to the National Academy of Sciences and one to AAAS.
The expanded PENNCard Policy covers emergency events.
The Three-Year Academic Calendar covers through 2004-2005.