Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast

Fulbright New Century Scholars
Program Competition

The competition is now open for the Fulbright New Century Scholars Program (NCS), an exciting and innovative new research initiative in the Fulbright Scholar Program.

Now in its second year, NCS brings together annually 25-30 outstanding research scholars from the U.S. and abroad to engage in multidisciplinary collaboration on a topic of global significance under the leadership of a Distinguished New Century Scholar Leader. For the academic year 2002-2003, the research focus is "Addressing Sectarian, Ethnic and Cultural Conflict within and across National Borders." Edward Tiryakian, Professor of Sociology, Duke University, will serve as the NCS Distinguished Scholar Leader. Approximately one third of the participants will be U.S. scholars; the remaining two thirds will be visiting scholars from outside the U.S.

NCS provides a unique research opportunity for participants to pursue individual research objectives as well as to engage in ongoing collaboration and interaction focusing on the NCS research theme. NCS Fellows will not only undertake a 3-6 month international research visit during the program year but will also come together for a pre-program orientation and goal setting session, a mid-term meeting, and a final plenary seminar.

Benefits include individual awards in the amount of $41,500 plus travel and per diem to cover participation in program seminars and meetings.

Deadline for receipt of applications is October 1, 2002. Program details and application materials will be available on ; requests to be added to the NCS mailing list should be directed to: .

You may also contact Micaela S. Iovine, Senior Program Officer at: .

The Fulbright Scholar Program is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

--Joyce M. Randolph, Executive Director, Office of International Programs (OIP)

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 33, May 7, 2002


May 7, 2002
Volume 48 Number 33

A memorial gathering will be held at noon today, in remembrance of Shannon Shieber who was killed four years ago today.

This year's Perkins Award goes to a long-time member of the GSFA faculty.
The School of Veterinary Medicine awards to seven members of its faculty.
The Penn's Way 2002 campaign raised over $400,000.
Speaking Out on Bicyclists vs Pedestrians, and Convenience vs. Confidentiality.
Death of Dr. Frederic Roll, emeritus professor of civil engineering.
Reports from the Senate Committee on the Faculty as well as the Senate Committee on Administration, along with Procedures Regarding Misconduct in Research and Policy for Postdoctoral Fellows.
Two faculty are named to the National Academy of Sciences and one to AAAS.
The expanded PENNCard Policy covers emergency events.
The Three-Year Academic Calendar covers through 2004-2005.