Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast



Final Report of the Search Committee for Executive Vice President/Dean of the School of Medicine

The search committee, which was convened by University President Judith Rodin on October 13, 2000, was chaired by Dwight L. Evans, M.D., Ruth Meltzer Professor and Chairman of Psychiatry and Professor of Pyschiatry, Medicine and Neuroscience.

Committee members were: Roberta A. Ballard, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics and Chief, Division of Neonatology, CHOP; Michael S. Brown, M.D., Paul J. Thomas Professor of Medicine and Genetics, Department of Molecular Genetics, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Garret A. FitzGerald, M.D., Robinette Foundation Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Elmer Bobst Professor and Chair of Pharmacology; Robert A. Fox, President and Chairman, R.A.F. Industries; John A. Fry, Executive Vice President, University of Pennsylvania; Thomas Gerrity, Ph.D., Reliance Professor of Management and Private Enterprise, the Wharton School; Eduardo Glandt, Ph.D., Professor of Chemical Engineering and Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science; John H. Glick, M.D., Madlyn and Leonard Abramson Professor of Clinical Oncology and Director, University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center; DuPont Guerry, IV, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology-Oncology; Heidi Harvie, a student in the M.D./MBA program; Jennifer Hunt, M.D., Anatomic Pathology Chief Resident; Bernett L. Johnson, Jr., M.D., Herman Beerman Professor of Dermatology and Senior Medical Director, HUP; David W. Kennedy, M.D., Professor and Chairman, Department of Otorhinolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery; Virginia M.Y. Lee, Ph.D., John H. Ware III Endowed Professor of Alzheimer's Research, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Maureen P. McCausland, DNSc, Professor of Nursing Administration and Chief Nursing Executive, UPHS; and Michael Silverman, a student in the M.D./Ph.D. program. The committee was staffed by Linda Koons in the Provost's Office.

The search was national in scope. The committee sought candidates with impeccable academic credentials; demonstrated strong leadership, the ability to make choices and manage resources effectively, personal diplomacy and "people skills," the ability to recruit and retain faculty; proven fundraising ability; and a grasp of the complex issues facing academic medicine today, as well as the issues and operations of a major research university.

The committee invited nominations and applications from all the faculty, staff, students in the School of Medicine; all School of Medicine alumni; all senior staff of the UPHS Health System; all UPHS Trustees and Overseers; all University Trustees; the deans of the University's twelve schools plus Associate and Vice Provosts and Vice Presidents; the Presidents and Provosts of AAU institutions, and all medical schools deans and heads of health systems in the United States and Canada. An advertisement for the position was placed in the Association of American Medical Colleges COD public web site ( In addition, the Executive Search Firm of Spencer Stuart was retained to assist the committee.

Members of the search firm held a series of interview meetings in late fall with Penn medical faculty, school deans, other members of the University's senior administration, and Trustees of both the Health System and the University to better understand the issues and challenges of the position and to begin the process of identifying and attracting potential candidates.

During the course of its search, the decision was made to restructure the original position--CEO/Dean--to that of EVP/Dean. President Rodin formally charged the committee regarding the revised position on February 28, 2001. The committee received applications and nominations for over 200 candidates, including those from within the campus community. A total of 192 persons were contacted by Spencer Stuart for this search. The candidate pool included eight women and eleven individuals identified as members of under-represented minorities. The search committee interviewed nine candidates.

Following careful consideration and deliberation on the merits of the candidates, the committee submitted its recommendations to President Rodin, who subsequently announced the appointment of Arthur H. Rubenstein, Dean and Gustave L. Levy Distinguished Professor at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine. The appointment, which became effective September 1, 2001, was approved by the Executive Committee of the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania at their meeting of September 20, 2001.

--Dwight L. Evans, Chair


Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 8, October 16, 2001


October 16, 2001
Volume 48 Number8

The grand old Quad will have three new College Houses when renovations are complete next fall.
Getting around University City will be easier for pedestrians and motorists thanks to new signage.
A $6.7 million NIH grant has been awarded to the Institute for Medicine and Engineering.
President Rodin will receive the Beacon Award at the upcoming celebration of 125 Years of Women at Penn.
Professor Peter Stallybrass will receive the MLA's Lowell Prize for most outstanding literary or linguistic study.
La Casa Latina: the Center for Hispanic Excellence has a new director.
The ICA has a new director of marketing and communications.
A new Entrepreneur in Residence program gives students a chance to meet and mingle with experienced entrepreneurs.
Research in the social and behavioral sciences involving human subjects must be reviewed by Penn's Institutional Review Board.