Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast

Wharton Teaching Awards
(more HERE)

The winners of this year’s David W. Hauck Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Undergraduate Division are Dr. Thomas Donaldson and Dr. Maurice Schweitzer. In the Graduate Division, Dr. Felix Oberholzer-Gee received the Helen Kardon Moss Anvil Award. (CLICK HERE for these and the other Wharton recipients).

National Medal of
Science: Dr. Davis

President George W. Bush announced last week that Dr. Raymond Davis Jr., research professor of physics and astronomy, is among 15 recipients of the 2001 National Medal of Science.

SEAS Awards (more HERE)

The S. Reid Warren, Jr. Award for Teaching
is presented annually by the undergraduate student body and the Engineering Alumni Society in recognition of outstanding service in stimulating and guiding the intellectual and professional development of undergraduate students in SEAS. This year's recipient is Dr. Nader Engheta, professor of electrical engineering.

The Ford Motor Company Award for Faculty Advising
recognizes dedication to helping students realize their educational, career and personal goals. This year's recipient is Dr. James P. Ostrowski, assistant professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics (MEAM).

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 34, May 21, 2002


May 21, 2002
Volume 48 Number 34

A National Medal of Science for a pioneering Penn physicist.

SEAS selects two recipients for its annual awards.
Wharton gives awards to dozens of its faculty.
The concern about bicyclists on campus picks up momentum.
Search Committees are formed to advise on selecting two new deans.
Next Tuesday is PPSA's annual meeting and election.
Baccalaureate and Commencement speeches and photographs.
University Council committee year-end reports on Bookstores, Communications, and Community Relations.
The largest voluntary canine blood donor program in the US gets new wheels.

Recognized Holidays for faculty and staff, and revisions to the Academic Calendar.

A dozen new CCTV locations for public spaces are added to those previously approved.