Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Three SAS Endowed Chairs

Dean Samuel H. Preston has announced that three newly appointed faculty members in the Department of Political Science have been named to endowed chairs in the School of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Joanne Gowa | Dr. Edward Mansfield | Dr. Rogers Smith | TOP

Dr. Joanne Gowa has been appointed to the Walter H. Annenberg Chair in the Social Sciences. Dr. Gowa holds a B.A. from Tufts University and a Ph.D. from Princeton University, where she was formerly the William P. Boswell Professor of World Politics of Peace and War. She had previously taught political science at Penn, before joining the faculty at Princeton in 1990. Her research and teaching interests include international security and international political economy. Her current research analyzes the relationship between crisis bargaining and the regime type of states. She is the author of three books and numerous articles on political economy, trade and monetary policy, and democracy and disputes. She is a member of the editorial committee of World Politics and the editorial board of International Organization. Dr. Gowa is a vice-president of the International Studies Association and has been a member of the council of the American Political Science Association. She has been the recipient of a National Science Foundation grant, a MacArthur Foundation grant, and a MacArthur Foundation fellowship. She is a member of the Board of Trustees of Tufts University.

The Walter H. Annenberg Professorship in the Social Sciences was created by the Honorable Walter and the Honorable Leonore Annenberg. The Annenbergs, who are both emeritus trustees, are lifelong supporters of Penn and patrons of education across the United States. They have endowed many chairs in SAS and made countless contributions to Penn, including the founding of the Annenberg School for Communication in 1958.

Dr. Joanne Gowa | Dr. Edward Mansfield | Dr. Rogers Smith | TOP

Dr. Edward Mansfield has been appointed to the Hum Rosen Professorship. Dr. Mansfield recently returned to the Department of Political Science from Ohio State University, where he had taught since 1996. Prior to that he was a faculty member at Columbia University. A Penn alumnus, he took his B.A. in history in 1984 and Ph.D. in 1989 in political science. He had been a visiting lecturer here in 1992-93. His research focuses on international relations, with a particular emphasis on the causes of interstate conflict and the political economy of international trade. He has published extensively on these topics and has served on the editorial boards of numerous journals, including the American Political Science Review, International Organization, and World Politics. He received the Karl W. Deutsch Award in International Relations and Peace Research from the International Studies Association in 2000. Dr. Mansfield has been a national fellow at the Hoover Institution, a term member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and program co-chair for the 2001 annual meeting of the American Political Science Association.

The Hum Rosen Professorship was established by Mr. George Weiss, W '65, and Ms. Diane Weiss in 1989. They named it in honor of one of Penn's most dedicated friends, Herman Rosen, W '36, for his service and loyalty to the University. The late Mr. Rosen served as the chairman of the Secondary School Committee for the Greater Hartford Alumni Club for more than 25 years and was a recipient of the Alumni Award of Merit in 1977.

Dr. Joanne Gowa | Dr. Edward Mansfield | Dr. Rogers Smith | TOP

Dr. Rogers Smith has been appointed to the Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professorship. Dr. Smith came to Penn from Yale, where he served as the Alfred Cowles Professor of Government and co-director of the Center for the Study of Race, Inequality, and Politics. He began teaching at Yale in 1980 and has received the Yale College Prize for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching. He received a B.A. from Michigan State University in 1975 and a Ph.D. in political science from Harvard in 1980. His research interests include constitutional law, American political thought, and modern legal and political theory with special interest in questions of citizenship, race, ethnicity, and gender. Dr. Smith has served on the editorial boards of several publications and is the author or co-author of more than 50 articles and four books, many of which have won awards. He has received Rockefeller and American Council of Learned Societies fellowships and was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize in 1998.

This chair is one of five Browne Distinguished Professorships established last year (Almanac February 1, 2000) by Christopher H. Browne, C '69, a Penn trustee and chair of the Board of Overseers of SAS.

Dr. Joanne Gowa | Dr. Edward Mansfield | Dr. Rogers Smith | TOP

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 10, October 30, 2001


October 30, 2001
Volume 48 Number 10

The answer is blowing in the wind; Penn agrees to purchase wind-generated electric energy.
The Political Science department has three newly appointed faculty members who have endowed chairs.
As winter weather approaches, the University has energy conservation initiatives ready to be implemented.
Dr. Norma Lang becomes the first woman and the first nurse to win the Codman Award.
The University celebrates 125 Years of Women at Penn, online with web sites and on campus with events.
The Government Affairs Update covers the recent developments in federal, commonwealth and city and community relations.
Volunteer opportunities in November are plentiful, including Shadowing Day and the Thanksgiving Food Drive.
There are two campus blood drives coming up in early November.