Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


New Appointments to Established Chairs

Marshall L. Fisher, professor of operations and information management and Co-Director of the Fishman-Davidson Center for Service and Operations Management has been named UPS Transportation Professor for the Private Sector. Dr. Fisher received his M.S. and Ph.D. from MIT. He joined the faculty in 1977.

Thomas P. Gerrity, professor of Management and Operations and Information Management and Director of the Wharton Electronic Business Initiative, has been named the Joseph J. Aresty Professor. Dr. Gerrity received his MSEE and Ph.D from MIT and joined the Wharton faculty in 1990. Dr. Gerrity, was the 11th dean of the Wharton School.

This fund was established in May, 1998 to support a professor of Leadership and Change Management. Mr. Aresty, W'43, is a former member of the Board of Overseers.

John Wesley Hutchinson, professor of marketing, has been named to the Stephen J. Heyman Professorship. Dr. Hutchinson received his B.S. from Duke University and is Ph.D. from Stanford. He joined the Wharton faculty in 1996.

This endowed professorship was established by Mr. Heyman, W'59, in 1985 to be awarded to an outstanding scholar who will provide leadership in teaching and research activities. Mr. Heyman is a member of Wharton's Graduate Executive Board, an overseer at SAS, and a former overseer for the Nursing School.

G. Richard Shell, professor of legal studies and management has been named to the Thomas Gerrity Professorship. Professor Shell received his B.A. from Princeton and his J.D. from the University of Virginia. He joined Penn in 1986. The chair was created in honor of Dr. Gerrity's deanship of the Wharton School.

Kenneth L. Shropshire, professor of legal studies and real estate, and chairperson, Legal Studies Department, has been named to the David W. Hauck Professorship. Professor Shropshire received his B.A. from Stanford and his J.D. from Columbia University School of Law.

Mr. Hauck, W'60 and a member of the Undergraduate Executive Board, established the chair in 1989.

Almanac, Vol. 48, No. 3, September 11, 2001


September 11, 2001
Volume 48 Number 3

Dr. Afaf Meleis--a prominent medical sociologist and specialist in women's health issues--will become the Dean of the School of Nursing in January.
Dr. Richard Gelles--a leading researcher in the study of family violence has been named Interim Dean of the School of Social Work.
Lucy Momjian is now Associate Vice President for Finance and Treasury Management.
Jack Shannon is named Associate Vice President in the Office of the Executive Vice President.
Dr. Battistini, director of Penn Health for Women, dies in a motor vehicle accident.
Convocation 2001: President Judith Rodin and Provost Robert Barchi welcome the Class of 2005.
Council Year-end Committee Reports: Admissions and Financial Aid as well as Recreation and Intercollegiate Athletics are both on the agenda of this week's Council Meeting.
Penn moves up in the latest U.S. News rankings of the nation's best universities to its highest ever ranking.
A noisy night in the neighborhood prompted a Speaking Out letter and two responses.
Code Red Alert: Preventing a computer worm is possible with these steps.
The Models of Excellence program wants nominations to recognize staff achievements from the previous academic year.