May 8, 2001
Volume 47
Number 33

Faculty Senate Leadership for 2001-2002
The Faculty Senate leadership for 2001-2002, as of May 2: Gerald Porter is the newly elected past chair, David Hackney is chair and Mitchell Marcus is chair-elect. See the Senate's Elected Officers and Committee Members, and SEC Actions HERE.

School of Nursing Teaching Awards

The Faculty Teaching Award recognizes a member of the School of Nursing faculty for excellence in teaching. Dr. Sarah Kagan, the Doris R. Schwartz Assistant Professor in Gerontological Nursing, has "demonstrated excellent nursing knowledge in regards to the topics presented in her class. She was abreast on current research regarding the topics covered and frequently offered her professional opinions regarding various topics," said nursing student Kathryn Rose McGill.

The Academic Support Staff Teaching Award recognizes excellence in teaching including knowledge of subject matter, ability to present subject matter clearly, and have an interest, be accessible and have a willingness to work with students. This year's award was received by Ann McGinley, assistant program director of the Obstetrics and Gynecology Nurse Practitioner Program and the clinical information system coordinator for the Penn Nursing Network Information System project. Ms. McGinley teaches graduate level students in clinical courses associated with the Obstetrics and Gynecology Nurse Practitioner, Perinatal Nurse Practitioner and the Nurse Midwifery graduate programs. "Ms. McGinley's teaching style promotes participation from students, while at the same time encouraging them to think critically about the unique problems and needs of women," said Dr. Neville Strumpf, professor and interim dean of the School.

Doctoral Student Organization Faculty Award recognizes the significant impact and contributions of the faculty to the development of future nursing scholars, researchers, and leaders. Dr. Neville Strumpf, professor and interim dean of the School of Nursing, is recognized for her commitment to developing nurse researchers, regardless of their research interests or backgrounds. This award acknowledges the personal interest taken by Dr. Strumpf in every individual doctoral student's success. Her visionary leadership, in formal and informal capacities, has contributed to an extraordinary training environment that promotes collaboration, equity, innovation, and excellence.

The Undergraduate Advising Award recognizes a member of the faculty who excels at advising undergraduate students. Eileen Ryan, clinical lecturer, was characterized by one of the students that nominated her as "a quintessential advisor. I consider her a role model and a mentor, and for that reason she would be an extremely worthy recipient of the Nursing Advisor Award."

School of Engineering and Applied Science Awards

Dr. William R. Graham, professor of materials science and engineering and professor of electrical engineering, is the recipient of the S. Reid Warren, Jr. Award. The award is presented annually by the undergraduate student body and the Engineering Alumni Society in recognition of outstanding service in stimulating and guiding the intellectual and professional development of undergraduate students in the School of Engineering and Applied Science.
Dr. Kostantinos Daniilidis, assistant professor of computer and information science, was awarded the Ford Motor Company Award for Faculty Advising. Dr. Daniilidis is also a member of the GRASP Laboratory and is associated with the Institute for Research in Cognitive Science (IRCS). The award, established at SEAS last year, recognizes dedication to helping students realize their educational, career and personal goals.

A Milestone in Heart Implant Surgery

A team of physicians at the Penn Medical Center recently performed a successful implant of the Arrow LionHeart Left Ventricular Assist System (LVAS), the first such operation in the Delaware Valley, and the second in the U.S. This surgery for the treatment of end-stage congestive heart failure provides a potential option for patients ineligible for a heart transplant. Dr. Michael Acker, a cardiothoracic surgeon and an associate professor of surgery, operated on Norman Paul, the 74-year old retired bricklayer and carpenter from Mt. Laurel, NJ. Dr. Acker is the surgical director of Heart Transplantation and Ventricular Assist Programs. He is a national leader in the use of mechanical assist devices as a bridge to transplantation or as a permanent therapy for end-stage heart failure.

The University of Pennsylvania Medical Center is one of five U.S. sites trained to implant the LionHeart. This Phase I Trial is initially limited to seven patients at the five sites.

Mr. Paul's surgery was performed on April 19 and he is recovering as expected. The first U.S. recipient received the device on February 28 at Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. As of last December, ten of these have also been implanted in patients in Europe.

The Arrow LionHeart had been an eight-year, joint development effort of Penn State's Medical School at Hershey Medical Center and Arrow International, in Reading. The device is capable of taking over the entire workload of the left ventricle. It is the first fully-implantable "destination therapy" device, with no lines or cable protruding through the skin thus eliminating a potential source of infection. It assists in the pumping function and is electrically driven by a wearable battery pack that transmits power non-invasively through the skin to charge internal batteries and power the blood pump.

Almanac, Vol. 47, No. 33, May 8, 2001