MLK 1999 Committee

Planning of the 1999 memorial celebration for the late Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., has begun with a call for nominations for the MLK 99 Awards (Click here for details and nomination form).

The celebration is planned by a core committee with a series of subcommittees now being assembled.

The executive chair for 1999's celebration is Afi Roberson, staff assistant in the African American Resource Center (AARC), where the annual campus celebration for Dr. King is housed. For the year 2000, the executive chair will be Jack B. Lewis, assistant director of AARC.

On the 1999 core committee are:

External Relations:
Phyllis Holtzman, Associate Director, University Relations
Evening Program:
Pamela Robinson, Associate Director, Office of College Houses & Academic Services
Isabel Mapp, associate director, Staff, Faculty, & Alumni Volunteer Services; director, Penn Volunteers in Public Service, Center for Community Partnerships
Jim Gray, Library Services Assistant, Tri-Chair African-American Association
Community Involvement:
Glen Bryann, Director, City & Community Relations
Jack B. Lewis, assistant director, AARC
Daytime, Campus-Wide Programs:
Nsenga Burton, President, BGAPSA, ASC 99
Brandi Thompson, President, UMOJA, COL 99
Charles Howard, President, UMC, COL 00
Academic Programs:
Gary Hack, Dean, GSFA
Other Than Monday Programs:
Valerie DeCruz, Director, Greenfield Intercultural Center
Ecumenical Services:
Rev. William Gipson, Chaplain

Almanac, Vol. 45, No. 13, November 24, 1998