Front Page


Job Ops


Between Issues


PULLOUT: March at PENN 1998 Calendar

Almanac Homepage

Staff Box

Dr. Ann Kennedy, the Richard Chamberlain Research Professor of Research Oncology and president of the Association of Women Faculty and Administrators, issues the following call for nominations.

AWFA Award Nominations: By March 10

The Association of Women Faculty and Administrators invites nominations for its annual awards, to be presented this year at a breakfast scheduled for Tuesday, April 7, 1998 at 8 a.m. at the Faculty Club. Nominations are invited for the following awards:

The Leonore Williams Award: In 1984, AWFA received a bequest from Leonore Williams, wife of former provost Edwin B. Williams. In her honor, the Association established an award to be given each year to an outstanding female scholar or leader. Preference is given to a distinguished woman affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania whose contributions extend within and beyond our campus. A plaque will be presented to the Leonore Williams Award recipient.

The Alice Paul Award: Named in honor of the SSW alumna who was a suffragist leader, founder of the National Women's Party, author of the Equal Rights Amendment, and internationally known humanitarian, several Alice Paul Awards are made to undergraduate and graduate women in recognition of their outstanding service to women--particularly those who have made contributions to women in the Penn community. A small cash award and a certificate are presented to each recipient.

The Robert E. Davies Award: Established in 1994 to honor the late Dr. Davies, a distinguished scientist, teacher, activist and University citizen who was a faculty member at Penn for over 35 years, this award is for those affiliated with the University who share the late Professor Davies' commitment to thought and action in striving for equal rights for women. A small gift will be made to the recipient's charity of choice and a plaque presented.

Nominations for any of the above awards should include the following: the nominee's name, position, campus address, and telephone number; the nature of the nominee's achievement, and why the nominator considers it to be extraordinary; and the nominator's name, position, campus address and phone number. All nominations must be received by March 10, and should be sent to:

Ann R. Kennedy
Department of Radiation & Oncology
195 John Morgan Building
3620 Hamilton Walk/6072

Return to:Almanac, University of Pennsylvania, February 24, 1998, Volume 44, Number 23