Front Page

In This Issue

Compass Features

Job Opps


Between Issues

January at PENN

Almanac Homepage

Compass Homepage

Staff Box

Under the Faculty Senate Rules formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. This notice is published under that rule:

To: Members of the Standing Faculty
From: Vivian C. Seltzer, Chair

Nominations for Offices Requested

In accordance with the Rules of the Faculty Senate you are invited to suggest candidates for the posts and terms stated below, with supporting letters if desired. Candidates' names should be submitted promptly to Larry Gross, Chair of the Senate Nominating Committee by telephone at 898-5620 or by e-mail.

The following posts are to be filled for 1998-99:

Chair-elect of the Senate (1-yr term)

(Incumbent: John C. Keene)

Secretary-elect of the Senate (1-yr term)

(Incumbent: Martin Pring)

Four At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (3-yr term)

(Incumbents: Helen C. Davies, Jean Henri Gallier, Paul R. Kleindorfer, Mark Stern)

One Assistant Professor Member of the Senate

Executive Committee (2-yr term)

(Incumbent: Wanda Mohr)

Three Members of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (3-yr term)

(Incumbents: Larry Gross, E. Ann Matter, Ruth J. Muschel)

Three Members of the Senate Committee on Conduct (2-yr term)

(Incumbents: Vivian L. Gadsden, John A. Lepore, Hermann Pfefferkorn)

Two Members of the Senate Committee on the

Economic Status of the Faculty (3-yr term)

(Incumbents: Roger M. Allen, Samuel H. Preston)

Nominating Committee Elected

The Senate Executive Committee's slate of nominees for the Senate Nominating Committee was circulated to the Senate Membership on November 4, 1997. No additional nominations by petition have been received within the prescribed time. Therefore, according to the Senate Rules, the Executive Com-mittee's slate is declared elected. Those elected are:

Charles E. Dwyer, (associate professor education)

Murray Gerstenhaber (professor mathematics)

Larry Gross (professor communication), Chair

Grace Kao (assistant professor sociology)

Andrew Postlewaite (professor economics)

Phyllis Rackin (professor gen'l honors in English)

Warren Seider (professor chemical engineering)

Steven J. Sondheimer (professor ob-gyn)

Thomas Sugrue (associate professor history)

Return to:Almanac, University of Pennsylvania, December 16, 1997, Volume 44, Number 16