Consultative Committee for the Selection of a Vice Provost and Director of Libraries

Provost Wendell Pritchett announces the formation of an ad hoc consultative committee to advise him on the selection of the University’s next Vice Provost and Director of Libraries. H. Carton Rogers, who has served as Vice Provost and Director of Libraries since 2004 and worked in the Penn Libraries since 1975, will retire from Penn at the end of this academic year.

“Over more than four decades at Penn,” said Provost Pritchett, “Carton Rogers has made our Libraries into vibrant hubs of activity, brilliantly combining respect for the past with vision for the future. He has been a particular leader in charting the future of research libraries, both nationally and here on campus, and in reimagining the Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center, in the heart of campus, as a wide-ranging center for collaborative learning and new ideas, while sustaining its essential role as a catalyst for study and scholarship. He has built an extraordinary legacy of innovation and imagination for his successor—and for the benefit of all of us in the Penn community.”

The committee welcomes nominations and input from all members of the Penn community, which can be sent to by February 28, 2018.

The members of the committee are:

Wendell Pritchett, Provost and Presidential Professor of Law and Education 

Jeffrey Kallberg, Associate Dean for Arts and Letters and William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Music, School of Arts and Sciences
Jonathan Moreno, David and Lyn Silfen University Professor in the Perelman School of Medicine and the School of Arts and Sciences
Jennifer Pinto-Martin, Viola MacInnes/Independence Professor of Nursing; Chair-Elect, Faculty Senate
Bethany Wiggin, Associate Professor of German, School of Arts and Sciences

Hannah Bennett, Director, Fine Arts and Museum Libraries
Paul George, Director, Biddle Law Library
Thomas Murphy, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Julian Siggers, Williams Director, Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology

Miles Owen, President, Graduate and Professional Student Assembly; School of Design and Fels Institute of Government
Shawn Srolovitz, SEAS ’18, Past Chair External (2017), Student Committee on Undergraduate Education

Judith Bollinger, WG ’81
Erik Gershwind, W ‘93

Staff to the Committee
Lynne Hunter, Associate Provost for Administration

Consultants to the Committee
Jonathan Fortescue, Park Square Executive Search
Anne Coyle, Park Square Executive Search