Print This Issue

Invitation to All PPSA Members

May 22, 2012, Volume 58, No. 34

On behalf of the Executive Board of the Penn Professional Staff Assembly, I’d like to thank you for your support this year and for helping us reach our goal of 1,000 members.  This year we were pleased to offer a diversified and full roster of workshops and events and each saw a high participation rate. Moving forward we will continue to bring topics that are of interest to our membership.

It is tradition to close out the year with a meeting and celebration. The Board is extending an invitation to attend this year’s wrap up meeting on May 24 from noon–1 p.m. in the Hall of Flags in Houston Hall. We will celebrate the close of a successful year and lay the groundwork for another one. We are pleased to announce Dr. Rebecca Bushnell, dean of the School of Arts & Sciences and professor of English, will be our speaker. She is an accomplished academician, author and speaker. She will discuss Understanding Academic Leadership at Penn. 

After the meeting you will receive a notice that online voting for open Board positions has begun. You will be asked to elect one chair-elect and five members-at-large. Following is your slate of candidates:


Utsav Schurmans—College Houses and Academic Services
Jon Shaw—Penn Libraries


Kayla Crawley Haidara—Office of the Vice Provost of University Life
Lucia DiNapoli—School of Nursing
Audrey Edmondsom—Penn Student Agencies
Emma Grigore—Wharton Human Resources
Jonathan Hakim—Office of International Programs
Karen Hamilton—Division of Finance
April Herring—College Houses and Academic Services
Joel Mintzer—Division of Business Services
Hoi Ning Ngai—Wharton Undergraduate Division
Rebecca Schept—LGBT Center
Dennie Zastrow—The Penn Fund
Marcy Weitz—Wharton Finance and Administration

When you receive the notification, please take a minute to cast your vote. 

Since this is a celebration, lunch will be provided. It is important that you register today at PPSA@exchange.upenn.edu if you plan to attend. 

—Anna M. Loh, Chair    —Holly L. Marrone, Chair-elect    —Laurie McCall, Past Chair

Almanac - May 22, 2012, Volume 58, No. 34