ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 04/24/12, School of Arts & Sciences Teaching Awards - Almanac, Vol. 58, No. 31
Print This Issue

School of Arts & Sciences Teaching Awards

April 24, 2012, Volume 58, No. 31

Dr. Rebecca W. Bushnell, dean of the School of Arts & Sciences, and Dr. Dennis DeTurck, dean of the College, announce the following recipients of the School's 2012 teaching awards, to be presented on Wednesday, April 25 at an awards reception that is open to the University community. The reception will take place from 4 to 6 p.m. in rm. 200, College Hall.

Ira H. Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching

M. Cvetic Ringe

This year’s recipients of SAS’s highest teaching honor are Dr. Mirjam Cvetic, the Fay R. and Eugene L. Langberg Professor of Physics, and Dr. Donald Ringe, the Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Endowed Term Professor of Linguistics. Created in 1983, the Ira H. Abrams Award recognizes teaching that is intellectually challenging and exceptionally coherent and honors faculty who embody high standards of integrity and fairness, have a strong commitment to learning, and are open to new ideas.

Dr. Cvetic is also the recipient of a Lindback Award this year (Almanac April 10, 2012). She is perhaps best known for her teaching in the freshman physics sequence, for which she has, in the words of a colleague, “studied and perfected each aspect of the classroom experience.” Another faculty member writes that, “Her students profusely praise the passion she brings to physics and the amazing degree to which she is able to connect her own research interests to the freshman level.”

Dr. Ringe’s lectures on historical linguistics are, in the words of one student, “the kind of experience one does not readily forget.” A colleague observes that, “No one could take a class with Don and come away unaware of the richness and complexity of language and language history, nor of the importance of this unique human product.”

Dean’s Award for Innovation in Teaching

JacksonThis award, which recognizes exceptional creativity and innovation in instruction, is presented to Dr. John L. Jackson, Jr., the Richard Perry University Professor of Communication and Anthropology. Faculty and students alike praise the unique way in which he blends theory with practical components and problem-solving, such as in the course Documentary, Ethnography and Research: Communicating Scholarship Through Film. A student concludes that, "Dr. Jackson always pushes the limits of academic practice."

Dean’s Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Research

RozinThis award recognizes faculty members who have excelled in nurturing undergraduate students' desires and abilities to conduct meaningful research. This year SAS honors Dr. Paul Rozin, professor of psychology. A fellow faculty member writes that Rozin is "uniquely dedicated" to mentorship and "has an extraordinary ability to excite in students a passion for research, to inspire their curiosity and to give them a sense of confidence and independence."

Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by an Assistant Professor

JarosinskiThis award recognizes a member of the junior faculty who demonstrates unusual promise as an educator. The 2012 recipient is Dr. Eric Jarosinski, assistant professor of Germanic languages and literatures. An undergraduate writes that Jarosinski "has a truly magical way of making his students understand difficult concepts without directly telling them what to think," resulting in what a faculty member describes as "a community of independent and empowered thinkers that [is] inspired to continue discussions outside of class."

Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Affiliated Faculty

PeronThis award recognizes the contributions to undergraduate education made by the School's non-standing faculty. This year's recipient is Mélanie Péron, who teaches French in the department of romance languages. Colleagues applaud her revisions to the intermediate French language curriculum and required courses in French civilization and history, while students hail these courses as having "content [that is] riveting and relevant" and that "encourages us to step outside our comfort zone."

LPS Distinguished Teaching Award

SilThis award honors outstanding teaching and advising in the College of Liberal and Professional Studies (LPS). This year's recipient of the award for non-standing faculty is Dr. Yvette Bordeaux, director of the Master of Environmental Science Program in the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Students praise her as a "tireless proponent of experiential education" who "made sure that students…were equipped not only with the conviction to protect and conserve the environment but also to approach it from as many facets of an issue as possible."


Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Graduate Students

This award recognizes graduate students for teaching that is intellectually rigorous and has a considerable impact on undergraduate students. This year’s awardees are:

Neil Crimes, Music

Jennifer Gerrish,
Classical Studies

Tyler Kelly,

Joseph Lavery,
Comparative Literature

Bruno Melillo,

Ruth Meadows,

Jacob Morton,
Ancient History

Sergio Mukherjee,
Political Science

Sara Phenix,
Romance Languages

Benjamin Truesdale,
Ancient History


Almanac - April 24, 2012, Volume 58, No. 31