Print This Issue

SENATE from the Senate Office

March 13, 2012, Volume 58, No. 25

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda

Wednesday, March 21, 2012
3–5 p.m.
Meyerson Conference Center, Room 223, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library
(The room is directly across from the elevator on the second floor)
Please Note Change in Meeting Room.
Note: You will need your PennCard to enter the Library
  1. Approval of the minutes of February 15, 2012 (1 minute)
  2. Chair’s Report (10 minutes)
  3. Past Chair’s Report (3 minutes)
  4. Penn Goes Global: Strategic Thinking for Global Engagement (45 minutes)
            Ezekiel Emanuel, Vice Provost for Global Initiatives
  5. Senate Committee on Committees Ballot (5 minutes)
  6. Discussion and vote on the Graduate School of Education proposal to increase the allotment of Senior Lecturers (45 minutes)
  7. Formulate questions for the April SEC meeting discussion with President Amy Gutmann (5 minutes)
  8. New Business

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.



TO:                Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM:         Larry Gladney, Chair, Nominating Committee
SUBJECT:   Senate Nominations 2012-2013

1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, official notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee’s slate of nominees for the incoming Senate Officers. The nominees, all of whom have indicated their willingness to serve, are:

         •  Dwight Jaggard, School of Engineering & Applied Science

         •  Stephen Phipps, School of Arts & Sciences

At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee:

to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election:
         •  Chris Bradway, School of Nursing
         •  Paulo Arratia, School of Engineering & Applied Science
         •  Salimah Meghani, School of Nursing
         •  Gustavo Aguirre, School of Veterinary Medicine

Assistant Professor Members of the Senate Executive Committee:

to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election:
         •  Matthew McHugh, School of Nursing

Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility:

to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election:
         •  John Bassani, School of Engineering & Applied Science
         •  Edward T. Lally, School of Dental Medicine
         •  Alan T. Charlie Johnson, Jr., School of Arts and Sciences/Physics & Astronomy

Senate Committee on
Economic Status of the Faculty:
to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election:
         •  Lorraine Tulman, School of Nursing
         •  Carolyn Gibson, School of Dental Medicine

2. Again in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit “additional nominations, which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least 25 valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than 14 days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee." Petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Office, 109 Duhring Wing by 5 p.m., Tuesday, March 27.

3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected.


Almanac - March 13, 2012, Volume 58, No. 25