Print This Issue

Models of Excellence Winners

February 14, 2012, Volume 58, No. 22

Models logo

Creativity, innovation and service are no strangers to Penn. On a campus of more than 20,000 staff members, great things happen at our University every day—and we want you to know about them.

That’s why we’re casting our spotlight on the best of the best in announcing this year’s Models of Excellence winners.

Introduced in 1999, the Models of Excellence Program honors staff member accomplishments that reflect initiative, leadership, collaboration and a deep commitment to service. This year’s five honorees—chosen by a rotating selection committee of campus leaders—embody the standards of excellence for this program, including creativity, leadership, extraordinary service and cost-effectiveness.

You’re encouraged to join us in April as we celebrate these individuals and their accomplishments. The Models of Excellence Awards Ceremony and Reception will take place on April 24 from 4–6 p.m. in Irvine Auditorium. If you have questions or would like to attend, contact Human Resources at QOWL@hr.upenn.edu or (215) 898-1012, or visit www.hr.upenn.edu/quality/models

Models of Excellence
• The Global Activities Registry Team—This team developed the Global Activities Registry to support and shepherd the Penn community through international activities.
Team members include:

Jim Cunningham, Perelman School of Medicine
Ben Evans, Division of Finance
Barbara Gorka, Office of International Programs
Erika Gross, University Life
Charles Harvey, Information Systems & Computing (ISC)
Edda Katz, ISC
Jamie Keane, ISC
Jen Miller, Business Services

• Deborah Marshall, School of Arts and Sciences—
Ms. Marshall reinvigorated the grant management activities in SAS.

• Lucy Wolf Tuton, Perelman School of Medicine—
Dr. Tuton created a multidisciplinary academic and community partnership program to provide health-related services to underserved populations.

Honorable Mention
• Jeffrey Ballentine, ISC—
Mr. Ballentine independently resolved the challenges faced by the Penn community when connecting to our wireless network.

• Load Serving Entity Campus Energy Management Program Team
This team established and oversaw a unique, cost-saving “Load Serving Entity” to manage Penn’s electricity needs. Team members include:

Marilyn Jost, Facilities & Real Estate Services (FRES)
Jonathan Klein, FRES
Gerald McGillian, FRES
William McKeaney, FRES
Kenneth Ogawa, FRES
Michael Stack, FRES
Eric Swanson, FRES
Jee He Kim, Division of Finance
Helen Kreider, Division of Finance
Roman Petyk, President’s Center   

2012 Selection Committee

Gregory Rost, Vice President and Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Thomas Robertson, Dean, The Wharton School
Joshua Piven, Writer to the Provost, Provost’s Office
Pat Burns, Director, Human Resources, SAS
Chereese Martin, Director, HR, FRES
Janice Orlov, Budget Director, The Wharton School
Holly Marrone, Chair-Elect, Penn Professional Staff Assembly
Suzanne Oh, Treasurer, Weekly Paid Staff Assembly
Ty Furman, Former Models of Excellence Winner
Caroline Gloria Glickman, Former Models of Excellence Winner
Kathleen M. Thomas, Former Models of Excellence Winner
Janet Tomcavage, Former Models of Excellence Winner

—Division of Human Resources


Related: Honors & Other Things; Penn Glee Club 150th Anniversary Gala

Almanac - February 14, 2012, Volume 58, No. 22