Print This Issue

Honors & Other Things

January 31, 2012, Volume 58, No. 20

NIH National Advisory Council: Dr. Behrman
Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius has appointed Dr. Jere R. Behrman, Williams R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Economics and Sociology in the School of Arts & Sciences, as the Economics/Social Science member of the National Advisory Child Health and Human Development Council for the National Institutes of Health (NIH)/National Institute of Child Health and Development (NICHD) for three years.

Task Force on Child Protection: Dr. Christian
Dr. Cindy Christian, a faculty co-director at the Penn Field Center for Children’s Policy Practice & Research, has been named to a new 11-member Task Force on Child Protection. The appointment was made by Pennsylvania Governor Tom Corbett. Dr. Christian is a professor of pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine and holds an endowed chair in child abuse prevention at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

Named to Irish Education 100: Dr. Doheny
Dr. Edward Doheny was named to the 2011 Irish Education 100 by the Irish Voice newspaper. The annual list honors leading educators of Irish descent. Dr. Doheny is a lecturer and senior graduate advisor in Penn’s Professional Program in Applied Geoscience in the department of earth and environmental science in SAS.

Along with the other honorees, he was featured in a special edition of the Irish Voice December 14 and attended an awards luncheon at the Irish Consulate in New York City.

FishmanJewish Book Award: Dr. Fishman
Dr. Talya Fishman, associate professor of religious studies in the School of Arts & Sciences, has been awarded the Nahum M. Sarna Memorial Award by the Jewish Book Council for her work Becoming the People of the Talmud: Oral Torah as Written Tradition in Medieval Jewish Cultures. The book, which Dr. Fishman spent 11 years researching and writing, examines the circumstances that have shaped the cultural meaning of Jewish traditions. The book was published by Penn Press.

Chair of FOCUS: Dr. Hariharan
Dr. Luxme Hariharan, a second-year ophthalmology resident, was recently appointed chair of the FOCUS Section for Women Residents and Fellows. Dr. Hariharan officially began her new leadership role on behalf of women medical trainees on January 1, 2012.

The FOCUS Section for Women Residents and Fellows is designed to provide women-in-training in the Perelman School of Medicine with the skills and resources critical for professional advancement and to address the ever present issue of work/life balance.

HeitjanBiometric Society: Dr. Heitjan
Dr. Daniel F. Heitjan, professor of biostatistics and statistics and director of the Biostatistics Core Resource in the Abramson Cancer Center, was recently elected president of the Eastern North American Region (ENAR) of the International Biometric Society (IBS). The IBS is the main international professional organization for biostatisticians, and ENAR is one of its largest and most prominent regional groups. Dr. Heitjan has been elected to serve as ENAR President-Elect for 2012, President for 2013, and Past President for 2014.

National Book Critics Circle: Dr. Hendrickson
Dr. Paul Hendrickson, senior lecturer in the department of English in the School of Arts and Sciences, has been nominated for a National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) book award for the 2011 publishing year. His work, Hemingway’s Boat: Everything He Loved in Life, and Lost, 1934-1961, was announced as a finalist in the biography category and follows Hemingway’s life through his one constant—his boat, Pilar.

Young Investigator Award: Dr. Loo
Dr. Boon Thau Loo, assistant professor in the department of computer and information science in the School of Engineering & Applied Science, is the recipient of a 2102 Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) for his proposal, “A Unified Algebraic and Logic-based Framework towards Safe Routing Implementations.”

The Young Investigators Program is open to scientists and engineers at research institutions across the United States who received PhD or equivalent degrees in the last five years and show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research.

Most Influential Research Articles: Dr. McHugh
Dr. Matthew McHugh, an assistant professor at the School of Nursing, has had his research article, “Nurses’ Widespread Job Dissatisfaction, Burnout, and Frustration with Health Benefits Signal Problems for Patient Care,” selected as one of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s  (RWJF) Top Five Most Influential Research Articles of 2011.

The RWJF reviewed grantee research that contributed significantly or influenced the field of research in some way, and polled the public to help select the final five articles. Votes were cast by more than 2,200 people from all 50 states, plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

Society of Music Award: Dr. Narmour
Dr. Eugene Narmour, Emeritus Edmund J. Kahn Distinguished Professor of Music in the School of Arts & Sciences, was honored with the Society of Music Perception and Cognition Achievement (SMPC) Award this past summer. The award acknowledges outstanding contributions to the field of music perception and cognition and is accompanied by lifetime membership in the SMPC. His work has prompted psychologists to further explore the process of melodic implication.

Related: Executive Doctorate in Higher Education Management Celebrates 10th Year

Almanac - January 31, 2012, Volume 58, No. 20