Print This Issue

From the Senate Chair

December 6, 2011, Volume 58, No. 14

TO:  Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM:  Camille Charles, Chair

SUBJECT:  Senate Nominating Committee

1. In accordance with the requirements of the Faculty Senate Bylaws, notice is given to the Senate Membership of the Senate Executive Committee’s nine-member slate of nominees for the Nominating Committee for 2012. The Nominating Committee nominates candidates for election to the Offices of the Faculty Senate, to the At-Large and Assistant Professor positions on the Senate Executive Committee, and to the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty, and the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility.  The nine nominees, all of whom have agreed to serve, are:

Pedro Ponte-Castaneda (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Larry Gladney (School of Arts and Sciences/Physics)

Ellis Golub (School of Dental Medicine)

Peter Kuriloff (Graduate School of Education)

Terri Lipman (School of Nursing)

Joshua Plotkin (School of Arts and Sciences/Biology)

Abigail Smith (School of Veterinary Medicine)

Herbert Smith (School of Arts and Sciences/Sociology)

Beth Winkelstein (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

2. Pursuant to the Bylaws, additional nominations may be submitted by petition containing at least 25 signed names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received by December 20, 2011. If no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Executive Committee will be declared elected. If additional nominations are received, a mail ballot will be distributed to the Faculty Senate membership. Please forward any nominations by petition via intramural mail to the Faculty Senate, Box 9 College Hall/6303. Please forward any questions to Sue White by email at senate@pobox.upenn.edu or by telephone at (215) 898-6943.

Related: Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda

Almanac - December 6, 2011, Volume 58, No. 14