ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 10/25/11, Honors and Other Things - Almanac, Vol. 58, No. 09
Print This Issue

Honors and Other Things

October 25, 2011, Volume 58, No. 09

Electromagnetics Award: Dr. Engheta

Dr. Nader Engheta, H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering and professor of bioengineering in the School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS), has been selected to receive the 2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award for “contributions to electromagnetic theory and applications of metamaterials and nanoscale optics.” This is a Technical Field Award sponsored by several IEEE societies and will be presented at the IEEE International Symposium next July in Chicago, Illinois.

Pioneering Spirit Award: Dr. Evans

Dr. Lois Evans, van Ameringen Professor in Nursing Excellence, received an award for Pioneering Contributions to Geropsychiatric Nursing from the Gerontological Advanced Practice Nurses Association (GAPNA). Dr. Evans was recognized for her pioneering research and dissemination efforts to improve the recognition and treatment of mental health disorders among older adults and restraint reduction, her commitment to infusing geropsychiatric nursing into school curriculums and her mentoring countless doctoral and post doctoral students.

Academic Champion: Dr. Fiene

Dr. Jonathan Fiene, senior lecturer and director of laboratory programs in the department of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics in SEAS, is the recipient of the 2011 Academic Champion Award from the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI). This award honors an individual or institution whose activities encourage students’ interests in the area of robotics and provides them with opportunities for hands-on experience developing robotic technology. His teaching focuses on mechanical design, fabrication, robotics, and mechatronics, with a particular emphasis in hands-on, project-based learning.

ASGE President: Dr. Ginsberg

Dr. Gregory G. Ginsberg, professor of medicine in the Perelman School of Medicine, was named president of the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. He will serve through May 2012. He is also director of endoscopy at HUP.

Gold Quality: HUP

The Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP) received the Get With The Guidelines®–Heart Failure Gold Quality Achievement Award from the American Heart Association. The award recognizes HUP’s commitment and success in implementing excellent care for heart failure patients, according to evidence-based guidelines. To receive the award, HUP has reached an ambitious goal of treating heart failure patients with 85 percent compliance for at least 24 months to core standard levels of care as outlined by the American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology secondary prevention guidelines for heart failure patients.

Science and Public Leadership Fellow: Dr. Kuchenbecker

Dr. Katherine J. Kuchenbecker, Skirkanich Assistant Professor of Innovation in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics in SEAS, was named a 2011 Class of Science and Public Leadership Fellow by PopTech, the global social innovation incubator and thought leadership network. She is developing interface systems that enable users to touch virtual objects and distant environments as though they were real and within reach.

Netter Center Grant: Dr. Lipman

Dr. Terri Lipman has been awarded the Netter Center for Community Partnership Course Development Grant for her proposal “Increasing activity in children: Dance for health.” Dr. Lipman is the Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor for Nutrition and professor of nursing of children–clinician educator. The purpose of the proposal is to increase children’s activity through the coordination of dance classes led by the Sayre High School Dance Team.

Animal Welfare Award: Dr. Moyer

Dr. Michael R. Moyer, the Rosenthal Director of Shelter Animal Medicine in the School of Veterinary Medicine, has been named recipient of the 2011 Delaware County SPCA Animal Welfare Leadership Award. Presented annually by the Media, PA-based animal shelter, the award honors community leaders who are positively impacting shelter animal medicine in the region. Dr. Moyer is also the owner of Bridgewater Veterinary Hospital, Inc. in Bensalem, PA.

Nursing Board: Dr. O’Sullivan

Dr. Ann O’Sullivan, Dr. Hildagarde Reynolds Endowed Term Professor of Primary Care Nursing, has been appointed to the Board of Directors on the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. The National Council of State Boards of Nursing counsels states across the country on matters of common interest and concern affecting the health, safety and welfare of patients and their families.

Nobel Prize: Dr. Sargent

Dr. Thomas J. Sargent, former associate professor of economics, shared this year’s prize in Economics with Christopher A. Sims (Princeton University). The award was granted for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy and their efforts to sort out the relationship between economic factors such as economic strategies and GDP, inflation, employment and investment in the modern world. Dr. Sargent was on the University of Pennsylvania faculty for three semesters, January 1970 to June 1971.

For a list of Penn-affiliated Nobel prize winners, see the University Archives web site, www.archives.upenn.edu/people/notables/awards/nobel.html

Wharton Esherick Exhibit Honored

The Penn exhibit Wharton Esherick and the Birth of the American Modern (Almanac November 2, 2010) won an award of merit from the American Association for State and Local History. Wharton Esherick and his circle of artistic friends shaped the definition of American modernism. The exhibit took place at Penn from September 2010 to February 2011 in the Van Pelt-Dietrich Library and the Kroiz Gallery of the Architectural Archives. The exhibit included books, manuscripts, photos, prints, sculpture and furniture. The exhibit was in collaboration with the Wharton Esherick Museum and the Hedgerow Theatre. All of the organizations will share the award.

Almanac - October 25, 2011, Volume 58, No. 09