Print This Issue

Honors and Other Things

May 24, 2011, Volume 57, No. 34

Periodontal Award & Honor: Dr. Cohen

Dr. D. Walter Cohen, dean emeritus of the School of Dental Medicine, received the Isador Hirschfeld Award from the Northeastern Society of Periodontists in New York on April 29 for his contributions to the advancement of periodontology.

In addition, the American Academy of Periodontology has established the D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award for Periodontal postgraduate students entering careers in education.

Journalism Awards: FactCheck.org

The Annenberg Public Policy Center program FactCheck.org has won a 2010 Sigma Delta Chi Award from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). Its coverage of deceptive claims about the federal health care legislation was selected by the judges for the non-deadline reporting award for independent news sites. In addition, FactCheck.org has won the 2011 Webby Award in the Politics category. Known as “the Oscars of the Internet,” the Webbys are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. This is FactCheck.org’s third Webby.

Academic Award: Dr. Vuchic

Dr. Vukan Vuchic, professor of materials science and engineering in the School of Engineering and Applied Science, was awarded the Academic Award by the National Association of Railroad Passengers (NARP). He was recognized for a career “dedicated to increasing knowledge about the operations, planning and policies toward passenger trains and other advancements in the field of transportation.”

Critical Language Scholarships

Six Penn students have been awarded US State Department Critical Language Scholarships for study during this summer. This program gives American students the opportunity to study critical-need languages overseas. The students are:

Jeremy Brinster, C’13—will study Arabic in Morocco.

Jumanah Hassan, G’12—will study Arabic in Jordan.

Ellie Joles, C’13, and Lin Yuan, C’13—will study Chinese in China.

Edgar Melgar, Gr’16—will study Turkish in Turkey.

Molly Reed, C’12—will study Russian in Russia.

AAAS Fellows

Four faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are:

Jonathan Epstein, William Wikoff Smith Professor of Cardiovascular Research, SOM

Katherine High, William H. Bennett Professor of Pediatrics, SOM

Brian Rose, Professor of Classical Studies, James B. Pritchard Professor of Archaeology, Curator-in-Charge, Mediterranean Section, Penn Museum

Amita Sehgal, Co-director of the Penn Comprehensive Neuroscience Center, HHMI investigator

Teacher Scholar Award: Dr. Park

Dr. So-Jung Park, assistant professor of chemistry, has been selected to receive a 2011 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award. The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program supports the research and teaching careers of talented young faculty in the chemical sciences. Dr. Park’s research involves synthesis and characterization of nanoscale inorganic solids and their hybrids with functional bio/organic materials.

Penn Nursing Alumni Awards

Honorary Alumni Award—Given to Ruth Colket, Penn Nursing Overseer, this award honors an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to the achievement of Penn Nursing alumni and School of Nursing goals through their personal support of the school and by inspiring loyalty among others. Ms. Colket and her husband, Tris, created the Colket Endowed Scholarship and established the Ruth M. Colket Chair in Pediatric Nursing at CHOP. Ms. Colket served as the co-chair of the 20th Anniversary Friends Committee in 2008, helping to raise more than $220,000 in support of student scholarships.  

Outstanding Alumni AwardDr. Joan Weiss, Gr’98, is being honored for her support and championing of nursing training, especially geriatric nursing through her leadership and policy expertise at the national level.

Student Alumni AwardAmelia Cataldo, Nu’11, is being honored for her strong support of Penn Nursing through campus activities and leadership role as president of the student nursing organization at Penn.

Lillian S. Brunner AwardDr. Linda A. Jacobs, clinical associate professor of nursing, Nu’75, GNC’95, Gr’99, is recognized for her contributions to the betterment of patient outcomes and for her development of the nation’s first Adult Cancer Survivorship Program.

Legacy AwardDr. Cynthia Connolly, associate professor of nursing, Nu’80, Gr’99, is recognized for her expertise in historical research and her use of history to inform and enrich the clinical and intellectual experiences of her students.  

Recent Alumni AwardMichele Avila-Emerson, GNu’05, is being honored for her leadership, dedication and volunteerism in meeting the needs of children through increased access to critical care services.

Expert Alumni AwardDr. Diane Spatz, Helen M. Shearer Term Association Professor of Nutrition, Nu’86, GNu’89, Gr’95, is being honored for her continued commitment to clinical excellence and her national and international leadership in promoting adoption of breastfeeding and research on its benefits. Dr. Spatz is also an associate professor of health care of women and childbearing nursing—clinician educator.

Almanac - May 24, 2011, Volume 57, No. 34