Print This Issue

McCabe Fund Awards 2011 Call for Applications: June 6

April 19, 2011, Volume 57, No. 30

The McCabe Fund Advisory Committee is calling for applications from junior faculty in the School of Medicine and the School of Veterinary Medicine for the 2011 Thomas B. and Jeannette E. Laws McCabe Fund Fellow and Pilot awards. The deadline for submission is Monday, June 6, 2011.

Junior faculty in these schools should contact the chair of their department or Dana J. Napier, project manager, School of Medicine Administration (215) 573-3221 or djnapier@exchange.upenn.edu for information and application forms. Guidelines and instructions are also available to determine eligibility. The McCabe Fund Advisory Committee will announce the winners at its annual June meeting.  

2010 McCabe Fund Winners

Last year three faculty members each won a $50,000 Fellow award:

Dr. Nimesh Desai, Surgery;

Dr. Bassil Kublaoui, Pediatrics;

Dr. Bonnie Ky, Medicine.

Twelve Pilot Awards of $34,548 each were awarded to:

Dr. Jaimo Ahn, Orthopaedic Surgery;

Dr. Smith Apisarnthanarax, Radiation Oncology;

Co-winners, Dr. Justin E. Bekelman, Radiation Oncology and Dr. Thomas Guzzo, Surgery;

Dr. Richard Dunbar, Pharmacology;

Dr. Andrea Evenski, Orthopaedic Surgery;

Dr. Ekaterina Grishchuk, Physiology;

Dr. David LaRosa, Medicine;

Dr. Neil Malhotra, Neurosurgery;

Dr. Robert Prosnitz, Radiation Oncology;

Dr. Kevin Teo, Radiation Oncology;

Dr. Fotios Tjoumakaris, Orthopaedic Surgery;

Dr. Clyde Wright, Pediatrics.

The McCabe awards were established in 1969 by a generous gift from Mr. and Mrs. Thomas B. McCabe to the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine to support junior faculty who initiate fresh and innovative biomedical and surgical research projects and who have received no or limited external research funding while in their first three years on the faculty at the School of Medicine or the School of Veterinary Medicine at Penn.


Almanac - April 19, 2011, Volume 57, No. 30