Print This Issue

Honors and Other Things

January 25, 2011, Volume 57, No. 19

AAAS Fellows

Three Penn professors have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). They will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum to be held in February during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments. The new Penn AAAS Fellows are:

James C. Alwine, professor of cancer biology, School of Medicine—Section on Biological Sciences

Gideon Dreyfuss, Issac Norris Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, School of Medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute—Section on Medical Sciences

John C. Trueswell, professor of psychology, School of Arts and Sciences—Section on Psychology

Dr. Lior: ASME Award

Lior Dr. Noam Lior, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics in SEAS and Dr. Na Zhang, a former visiting scholar at SEAS, were honored by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) for a paper they co-authored titled “Use of Low/Mid-Temperature Solar Heat for Thermochemical Upgrading of Energy, With Application to a Novel Chemically-Recuperated Gas-Turbine Power Generation (SOLRGT) System.” They received the Society’s Edward F. Obert Award that recognizes an outstanding paper on thermodynamics.

Dr. McGovern: Book Award

Cover Dr. Patrick E. McGovern, scientific director of the Biomolecular Archaeology Laboratory at the Penn Museum and adjunct professor of anthropology, was awarded the Felicia A. Holton Honorable Mention Book Award from the Archaeological Institute of America, for his book Uncorking the Past: The Quest for Wine, Beer and Other Alcoholic Beverages. The award was presented at the annual conference, earlier this month, and is given for a major work of non-fiction, which conveys the importance and excitement of archaeology to the general public.

Dr. Pettinati: Addiction Research Award

Dr. Helen Pettinati, director of the Addiction Treatment Research and Medication Development Division, Center for the Studies of Addiction, was honored by the Butler Center for Research at Hazelden with the Dan Anderson Research Award, for her randomized clinical trial examining the effects of treating alcohol dependence and depression concurrently.  The award is for a single published article by a researcher who has advanced the scientific knowledge of addiction treatment and recovery. Dr. Pettinati earned the award for her study, “A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial Combining Sertraline and Naltrexone for Treating Co-Occurring Depression and Alcohol Dependence.”

Dr. Porter: Meritorious Service

Dr. Gerald “Jerry” Porter, professor emeritus of mathematics, has been awarded a 2011 Certificate for Meritorious Service for his contributions to the Mathematical Association of America’s Eastern Pennsylvania and Delaware Section (EPaDel). Dr. Porter’s decades of service to theMAA include service on the Board of Governors, the Finance Committee, as Governor of EPaDel and as treasurer. Dr. Porter was also commended for his mentorship to younger mathematicians.

Dr. Raker: Beyond the Call Award

Dr. Charles Raker, professor emeritus in the department of surgery at New Bolton Center was honored with the Sage O. Kester ‘Beyond the Call’ Award. Presented by the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP), the award is reserved for AAEP members who have helped shape the practice of equine veterinary medicine today. It is the highest honor bestowed by the AAEP.

Dr. Rodin: White House Council

President Emerita Judith Rodin was chosen by President Barack Obama to serve on the newly established White House Council for Community Solutions. The Council will focus on developing ways to enlist more Americans and leaders across sectors to help catalyze change in communities and make progress on the nation’s biggest goals in education, youth development and employment.

Dr. Sugrue: History Board

Dr. Thomas J. Sugrue, David Boies Professor of History and Sociology, has been named president-elect of the Urban History Association (UHA). The Urban History Association is the major scholarly association in its field, with a worldwide membership of college and university faculty, planners, architects, and public historians. Dr. Sugrue is the third member of the department of history to be named head of the UHA; Dr. Lynn Hollen Lees served as president in 1993 and Dr. Michael B. Katz in 2006.


Almanac - January 25, 2011, Volume 57, No. 19