Print This Issue


January 11, 2011, Volume 57, No. 17

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule:

To: Members of the Standing Faculty

From: Robert Hornik, Chair

Nominations for Offices Requested

In accordance with the Rules of the Faculty Senate you are invited to suggest candidates for the posts and terms stated below, with supporting letters if desired. Candidates’ names should be submitted promptly to Sherri Adams, Chair of the Senate Nominating Committee by telephone at (215) 898-6569 or by e-mail to sherri@dental.upenn.edu

The following posts are to be filled for 2010-2011:

(Incumbent: Camille Charles)

(Incumbent: Karin McGowan)

Four At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (3-year term) and one At-large vacancy (1-year term)
(Incumbents: Peter Cappelli, Emma Dillon, Janet Deatrick, and Amy Pruitt)

Two Assistant Professor Members of the Senate Executive Committee (2-year term)
(Incumbents: Kristen Harknett and Sigal Ben-Porath)

Three Members of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (3-year term) and one vacancy (1-year term)
(Incumbents: Cliff Deutschman, Samuel Freeman and Erika Holzbaur)

Two Members of the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (3-year term)
(Incumbents: Daniel Raff and Sarah Kagan)

Nominating Committee Elected

The Senate Executive Committee’s slate of nominees for the Senate Nominating Committee was circulated to the Senate Membership on December 7, 2010. No additional nominations by petition have been received within the prescribed time. Therefore, according to the Senate Rules, the Executive Committee’s slate is declared elected.

Those elected are:

• Sherri Adams (School of Dental Medicine), Chair

• Peter Dodson (School of Veterinary Medicine)

• Angela Duckworth (School of Arts & Sciences/Psychology)

• Marybeth Gasman (Graduate School of Education)

• Amy Hillier (School of Design)

• John Jackson (Annenberg and School of Arts & Sciences/Anthropology)

• Dwight Jaggard (School of Engineering & Applied Science/Electrical & Systems Engineering)

• Sarah Kagan (School of Nursing)

• Susan Meyer (School of Arts & Sciences/Philosophy)


Related: Faculty Senate: Celebrating Ben Franklin’s 305th Birthday at a Founder’s Day Symposium

Almanac - January 11, 2011, Volume 57, No. 17