Print This Issue

Honors and Other Things

December 14, 2010, Volume 57, No. 15

Dr. Gasman: Global Education Board


Dr. Marybeth Gasman, associate professor in the Graduate School of Education, has been appointed chair of the global education advisory board at Success for Kids.

Success for Kids is dedicated to empowering at-risk children and youth to become productive citizens by delivering research-based programs that enhance interpersonal skills, emotional intelligence, problem-solving skills and self-sufficiency.

Dr. Kazanietz: NCI Board


Dr. Marcelo G. Kazanietz, professor of pharmacology in the School of Medicine, became a member of the National Cancer Institute’s Board of Scientific Counselors (NCI BSC), the Federal government’s principal agency for cancer research. The Board advises the director of the NCI on matters concerning scientific program policy, funding and progress and future direction of basic cancer research programs. The appointment will run through July 31, 2015.

Dr. Zhou: BRAINS Award


Dr. Zhaolan (Joe) Zhou, assistant professor of genetics in the School of Medicine, was one of 12 investigators nationwide who received 2010 Biobehavioral Research Awards for Innovative New Scientists (BRAINS) from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). The BRAINS award supports the research and career development of outstanding scientists who are in the early, formative stages of their careers and who plan to make a long-term career commitment to research in specific mission areas of the NIMH. Individual awards are made in the vicinity of $2.5 million over five years. Dr. Zhou will use mouse models to examine the molecular underpinnings that link early life stress and subsequent mental illness. 

School of Nursing: WHO/PAHO Collaborating Center

The School of Nursing has again been designated as a World Health Organization/Pan American Health Organization Collaborating Center for Nursing and Midwifery Leadership.

“We feel that these terms of reference best capture the expertise and interest of the greatest number of our faculty while reflecting the future directions of our international mission,” said Margaret Bond Simon Dean of Nursing, Dr. Afaf Meleis.

American Association for the History of Nursing Awards

Penn Nursing faculty Julie Fairman and Patricia D’Antonio, have been awarded the 2010 Mary Adelaide Nutting Award from the American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) for their paper “Reimagining nursing’s place in the history of clinical practice,” which was published in the Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences (2008).

Dr. Fairman is a professor and the director of the Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing, and Dr. D’Antonio is an associate professor and associate director of the Barbara Bates Center for the History of Nursing.

In addition, Penn Nursing doctoral candidate Winifred Connerton won the 2010 Teresa E. Christy Award from the AAHN. The award acknowledges the excellence of historical research and writing done while the researcher was a doctoral student.

Penn Design: Top Architecture Program

The School of Design’s architecture program ranked #8 in the country by DesignIntelligence, which began ranking architecture programs in 2004. The rankings were released on November 1, 2010, in the Architectural Record. Rankings are based on the hiring experience of firms surveyed and the preparedness of recent graduates in a range of vital skills.

Almanac - December 14, 2010, Volume 57, No. 15