Print This Issue

SENATE: From the Senate Chair

December 7, 2010, Volume 57, No. 14

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Robert Hornik, Chair

SUBJECT: Senate Nominating Committee

1. In accordance with the requirements of the Faculty Senate Bylaws, notice is given to the Senate Membership of the Senate Executive Committee’s nine-member slate of nominees for the Nominating Committee for 2011. The Nominating Committee nominates candidates for election to the Offices of the Faculty Senate, to the At-Large and Assistant Professor positions on the Senate Executive Committee, and to the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty, and the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility.  The nine nominees, all of whom have agreed to serve, are:

Sherri Adams (School of Dental Medicine), Chair

Peter Dodson (School of Veterinary Medicine)

Angela Duckworth (School of Arts and Sciences/Psychology)

Marybeth Gasman (Graduate School of Education)

Amy Hillier (School of Design)

John Jackson (Annenberg and School of Arts and Sciences/Anthropology)

Dwight Jaggard (School of Engineering and Applied Science/Electrical & Systems Engineering)

Sarah Kagan (School of Nursing)

Susan Meyer (School of Arts and Sciences/Philosophy)

2. Pursuant to the Bylaws, additional nominations may be submitted by petition containing at least 25 signed names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received by December 21, 2010. If no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Executive Committee will be declared elected. If additional nominations are received, a mail ballot will be distributed to the Faculty Senate membership. Please forward any nominations by petition via intramural mail to the Faculty Senate, Box 9 College Hall/6303. Please forward any questions to Susan White by e-mail at senate@pobox.upenn.edu or by telephone at (215) 898-6943.


Related: Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda

Almanac - December 7, 2010, Volume 57, No. 14