Print This Issue

Honors & Other Things

November 16, 2010, Volume 57, No. 12

Exceptional Commitment: Mr. Rennekamp


The fall 2010 President and Provost’s Citation for Exceptional Commitment to Graduate and Professional Student Life is being presented to Andrew Rennekamp, the 2008-09 Chair of GAPSA. The Citation is given to graduate or professional students, upon their graduation from Penn, who have been catalysts for transformative and lasting new developments that have enhanced graduate and professional student life at Penn.

A reception to honor Mr. Rennekamp will be held on Thursday, November 18 from 5 until 6 p.m. in the Graduate Student Center, room 305, 3615 Locust Walk. All members of the University community are invited to attend. RSVP at www.gsc.upenn.edu/register.






US Commission on Human Rights: Ms. Garry

Joan Garry, an adjunct instructor at the Annenberg School for Communication, has been named to the New Jersey State Advisory Committee (SAC) by the US Commission on Civil Rights. Congress has directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency’s jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.  

Honorary Doctoral Degree: Dr. Katz

Dr. Elihu Katz, Distinguished Trustee Professor of Communication in the Annenberg School, received an honorary doctoral degree from the Université du Québec à Montréal during a conference where he discussed his landmark books Personal Influence: The Part Played by People in the Flow of Mass Communication and Media Events: The Live Broadcasting of History

2010 Roland Bainton Award: Dr. Silver

Dr. Larry Silver, Farquhar Professor of Art History, has been awarded (with co-author Shelley Perlove of the University of Michigan-Dearborn) the 2010 Roland Bainton Award for the best book in Art and Music History by the Sixteenth Century Studies Conference. Their book, Rembrandt’s Faith, Church and Temple in the Dutch Golden Age, was published by Penn State University Press in 2009. It is the first book to offer a holistic analysis of Rembrandt’s oeuvre of religious images in paintings, etchings, and drawings.

Eisenberg Fellowship

The winners of this year’s Eisenberg Fellowship, sponsored by the Center for Programs in Contemporary Writing, are Kimberly Eisler and Maggie McGrath. Ms. Eisler, C’11, will work on an article about the long-term effects of fraternity membership during college. Ms. McGrath, C’11, will research and write about the transformation of abandoned spaces into public parks, trails, and museums in American cities. Their work will be featured in an event at the Kelly Writers House in April.

Distinguished Daughters of PA: Drs. Gutmann & Jamieson

Amy Gutmann, President of the University of Pennsylvania Jamieson

Gov. Edward G. Rendell and Judge Marjorie O. Rendell, the first lady, honored President Amy Gutmann, and Kathleen Hall Jamieson, a professor in the Annenberg School for Communication, as Distinguished Daughters of Pennsylvania. Six other women were also recognized.

Dr. Gutmann was recognized for her leadership of Penn and her commitment to increasing access.  Since becoming president in 2004, she has eliminated student loans for eligible undergraduates, increased undergraduate financial aid by 78% and helped raise nearly $250 million to date for financial aid for undergraduate students.   

Dr. Jamieson is the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication and director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at Penn. She is an expert on political communication and has written 15 books on political science and communication, most recently The Obama Victory: How Media, Money and Messages Shaped the 2008 Election, in 2010.


Penn Museum: ici Mobile App Award

Penn Museum is the winner of the 2010 ici Mobile App Award for the Mid-Atlantic Region. The award, offered by ici, is valued at $50,000. The contest was open to nonprofit arts and cultural organizations operating in the Mid-Atlantic region offering publicly accessible programming or services.

According to the Penn Museum, its mobile app “will extend our reach beyond our existing social media platforms. The mobile app will ‘curate’ the visitor experience and make our window on the world a bit more transparent. Download free podcasts and videos of lectures, and browse our collections and archival materials from our 120 year history in some of the most important excavations around the globe.”

2010 Architectural Excellence Award

Several structures on Penn’s campus, as well as those affiliated with Penn, received the 2010 Architectural Excellence Award from AIA Philadelphia (American Institute of Architects). See www.aiapa.org for pictures of the structures. Penn’s winners are:

“Out on a Limb” tree canopy walk at the Morris Arboretum designed by Metcalfe Architecture & Design

The Annenberg Public Policy Center designed by Maki and Associates and Ballinger

The Radian designed by Erdy McHenry Architecture, LLC

The Mask and Wig Club renovation designed by Matthew Millan Architects

Out on a Limb

(Above) A winner of an AIA award, the “Out on a Limb” structure is a 450-foot long walkway that soars 50 feet above the ground that’s part of the Tree Adventure exhibit at the Morris Arboretum.




Almanac - November 16, 2010, Volume 57, No. 12