Print This Issue

Trustees' Meeting Coverage

November 2, 2010, Volume 57, No. 10

Last Friday at the University of Pennsylvania Trustees’ Stated Meeting, Chair David Cohen presented three memorial resolutions for recently deceased trustees: Gordon S. Bodek; Henry M. Chance II, and Leonard A. Shapiro.

Paul Williams was elected an emeritus trustee; Susan Danilow and Julie Beren Platt were elected as term trustees for five-year terms; and Scott L. Bok was re-elected as a term trustee. Mr. Cohen was elected as a charter trustee.

President Amy Gutmann presented the resolution to appoint Dr. J. Larry Jameson as Executive Vice President of the University of Pennsylvania for the Health System, as dean of the School of Medicine, and to the Penn Medicine Board and Penn Medicine Executive Committee. Dr. Gutmann also presented resolutions to reappoint Rebecca Bushnell, as dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, and Michael Fitts, as dean of the Law School.

Provost Vincent Price reported that the Fels Institute will change the name of a degree, from master of government administration to master of public administration.

EVP Craig Carnaroli reported that the University has reached 83% of its goal in cost reduction efforts with nine months still remaining. The Health System has a positive operating margin due to tight control, he said.

In the Penn Med report, Dr. Arthur Rubenstein said he is confident that Dr. Jameson will take Penn Med to new heights.

Dr. Deborah Marrow, chair of Academic Policy, presented a resolution to repatriate clan objects to two clans in Alaska, and establish a partnership between the Tinglit and the Penn Museum.

The trustees also passed a resolution to establish a one-year master’s degree in environmental building design within the department of architecture in the School of Design.

On behalf of the Budget & Finance committee, Mr. John Clark presented four resolutions: a resolution to authorize the design and construction of the Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology for an additional $68.5 million for a revised total of $80 million; a resolution to authorize the design and construction of the Towne Building 3rd floor air handling unit replacement, $1.862 million; a resolution to authorize a 12.75-year new lease for the School of Nursing’s LIFE center, to lease the 4th floor so they can expand; and a resolution to authorize the design and construction of the Chemistry 1958 Building exhaust fan replacement, $1.5 million.

George Weiss gave the Development report and said that Penn is well positioned to reach the Campaign goal as it enters the final phase.

Dr. Marie Savard reported that the External Affairs committee received a presentation on the soon-to-be released Economic Impact Report.

Egbert Perry reported that Facilities and Campus Planning approved the design of the Shoemaker Green project, which will transform the area in front of the Palestra and connect the core of the campus with Penn Park. The University’s Climate Action Plan, which was launched one year ago, has made significant strides to reach the goals.

Mr. James S. Riepe was reappointed chair of the Penn Med Board and Keith L. Sachs was reappointed chair of the Board of the School of Design.

Edward Ziff was appointed to Wistar’s Board; Lynn Jerath to Annenberg Center’s Board; Anthony Noto to the Athletics Board; Stephen Olitsky and Robert Zou to the Dental Med Board; Juliet Sjoborg to the SEAS Board; Steven Todd Shapiro to the Law School Board; Stephen Cozen as an emeritus member of the Law School Board; Eunice Searles King, Sandra Samberg and Patricia Silverstein to the Board of Nursing; Gary Golding to the Board of SP2; Anne Welsh McNulty to the Board of Wharton; and Charles Leitner to the Board of the School of Design.


Almanac - November 2, 2010, Volume 57, No. 10