Print This Issue

From the President
April 13, 2010, Volume 56, No. 29

Ad Hoc Consultative Committee for the Selection of the
Executive Vice President of the University for the Health System
and Dean of the School of Medicine

I am pleased to announce the formation of an Ad Hoc Consultative Committee to advise me on the selection of Penn’s next Executive Vice President of the University for the Health System and Dean of the School of Medicine, succeeding Arthur Rubenstein, who announced last month that he will step down as planned at the end of his second term, on June 30, 2011.  

Arthur’s transition will mark the conclusion of ten enormously successful and productive years that have immeasurably strengthened Penn Medicine. As Dean, EVP, and a key member of the University’s senior leadership, his successor must be academically eminent, administratively experienced, and clinically knowledgeable, with an unwavering ethical compass, the highest aspirations for the future of Penn Medicine, and a demonstrated commitment and ability to encourage faculty and staff collaboration and to collaborate with the University’s Deans and senior leadership.

I am confident that the Consultative Committee that I have assembled with the help of the School of Medicine’s Faculty Senate Steering Committee will do an excellent job, and I am grateful to its members for their willingness to undertake this important task. 

The Consultative Committee will be chaired by Provost Vincent Price, the Steven H. Chaffee Professor of Communication and Political Science. The other members of the Committee, in addition to Provost Price, are:

Committee Members

Rebecca Bushnell, Thomas S. Gates, Jr. Professor, Professor of English, and Dean, School of Arts and Sciences (SAS)

Craig Carnaroli, Executive Vice President of the University

Cody Dashiell-Earp, MD/MBA student (SOM and Wharton)

Horace DeLisser, Associate Professor of Medicine (SOM)

Robert Doms, Professor and Chair, Microbiology and Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (SOM)

Deborah Driscoll, Professor and Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology (SOM)

Lee Spelman Doty, President, Penn Alumni; Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania; and Member, Penn Medicine Executive Committee

Eduardo Glandt, Robert D. Bent Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS)

John Glick, Madlyn and Leonard Abramson Professor of Clinical Oncology and Professor of Medicine (SOM)

David Andrew Hill, MD/PhD student (SOM)

Chanita Hughes Halbert, Associate Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry (SOM)

Jonathan Moreno, David and Lyn Silfen University Professor and Professor of Medical Ethics and of History and Sociology of Science (SOM and SAS)

Gail Morrison, Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Education, School of Medicine (SOM)

Anne Reilly, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Medical Director, Oncology at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (SOM)

Victoria Rich, Associate Professor of Nursing Administration-Clinician Educator and Chief Nursing Executive, University of Pennsylvania Health System (Nursing)

Staff to the Committee

Stephen P. Steinberg, Advisor to the President, Office of the President

Adam Michaels, Assistant to the Vice President and Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Consultants to the Committee

John Isaacson, President and Managing Director, Isaacson, Miller

Barbara Stevens, Vice President and Director, Isaacson, Miller

Philip Jaeger, Managing Associate, Isaacson, Miller

Sean Farrell, Managing Associate, Isaacson, Miller

The Committee welcomes—and will keep in the strictest confidence —nominations, suggestions, and input from all members of the University community.  For fullest consideration, communications should be received, preferably in electronic form, no later than May 31, 2010, and may be addressed to the Committee staff, Dr. Steinberg (sps@upenn.edu) or Mr. Michaels (adampm@upenn.edu), or preferably, to Mr. John Isaacson, Managing Director, at 3978@imsearch.com (or c/o Isaacson, Miller, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 710, Washington, DC 20009).

––Amy Gutmann, President

Almanac - April 13, 2010, Volume 56, No. 29