Print This Issue

Sherrill Adams: Inaugural TCPW-Provost Award
March 23, 2010, Volume 56, No. 26


Adams, Sherrill

The Office of the Provost and the Trustees Council of Penn Women announced that Dr. Sherrill Adams, professor of biochemistry in the School of Dental Medicine, is the inaugural recipient of their joint Award of Recognition for significant contributions by Penn faculty to advancing the role of women in higher education and research at Penn.

Dr. Adams has taught at Penn for more than 30 years, served as Chair of both the Faculty Senate and the biochemistry department in the School of Dental Medicine, and won the Lindback Award, Penn’s highest University-wide teaching honor, in 2002.

In making its selection from a group of extremely strong nominations, the award committee took note of Dr. Adams’ longstanding advocacy for gender equity across campus, wide-ranging service to Penn, and public and private mentorship of women faculty, including the establishment of a formal mentorship program for junior faculty in the School of Dental Medicine. She will receive the award, which includes a $5,000 honorarium, at a ceremony on April 8.

The Selection Committee for the Award included: Professors Rita Barnard, SAS; Lisa Bellini, SOM; Clifford Deutschman, SOM; Antonella Grassi, SAS; Susan Margulies, SEAS; and Walter Wales, SAS.

Almanac - March 23, 2010, Volume 56, No. 26