ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 02/23/10, Celebrating Excellence at Penn - Almanac, Vol. 56, No. 23
Print This Issue

Celebrating Excellence at Penn
February 23, 2010, Volume 56, No. 23


At Penn, we understand the importance of going above and beyond the call of duty. From innovative thinking and exceptional leadership to collaboration and commitment to service, our staff members accomplish extraordinary things every day—and now it’s time to recognize them.

The Division of Human Resources is pleased to announce the 2010 Models of Excellence award winners and nominees as well as finalists for the 2010 Model Supervisor Award. This year’s Selection Committee of campus leaders, listed below, considered 26 nominations with 179 staff members. For a complete listing of all winners and nominees, visit the Human Resources website at www.hr.upenn.edu/quality/models.

Ceremony and Reception

The 2010 Models of Excellence Awards Ceremony and Reception is scheduled for April 6 from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. Don’t miss this unique opportunity to celebrate the talent, creativity and dedication of all who work here. The entire Penn community is encouraged to attend.

If you have any questions about the program or would like an invitation to the awards ceremony, contact Human Resources at QOWL@hr.upenn.edu or (215) 898-1012.

Model Supervisor Award Finalists

Established in 2007, the Model Supervisor Award is given annually to an outstanding Penn supervisor who demonstrates exemplary supervisor behaviors and serves as an outstanding role model for others to emulate.

Finalists for the 2010 Model Supervisor Award are as follows:

Sharon Moorer Aylor, Executive Director, Staff and Labor Relations, Human Resources

Janice Orlov, Budget Director, Finance and Administration, The Wharton School

Carol Pooser, Executive Director, External Affairs, School of Arts & Sciences

The Model Supervisor Award winner will be announced live at the Models of Excellence Awards Ceremony by President Amy Gutmann.

Models of Excellence Award Winners

The Committee selected the following four nominations to honor this year. They were chosen for making significant contributions to the University that embody the standards of excellence for this program, including creativity, leadership, extraordinary service and cost-effectiveness.

Models of Excellence

Penny Creedon from the Graduate School of Education is being honored for introducing innovative and highly effective student recruitment processes that were instrumental in meeting the school’s graduate student expansion goals within current economic constraints.

The Out-on-a-Limb Adventure Team is being honored for designing a unique experience at the Morris Arboretum that significantly increased the number of visitors to the Arboretum. Out-on-a-Limb activities, such as the Canopy Walk and the Squirrel Scramble, give visitors a bird’s eye view of the forest in order to help them understand the importance of our environment.

Robert Anderson, Business Services
Mariette J. Buchman, Facilities & Real Estate Services
Marc Steven Cooper, Facilities & Real Estate Services
Susan Crane, Business Services
Robert Gutowski, Business Services
Liza Hawley, Business Services
Jan McFarlan, Business Services
Paul W. Meyer, Business Services
Elizabeth Anthony Nestor, Facilities & Real Estate Services
Victoria Sicks, Business Services
Leslie A. Weisser, Business Services

Honorable Mention

The Alex’s Virtual Lemonade Stand Team is being recognized for partnering with the Lower Merion School District to help raise money for pediatric cancer research. Using innovative technology, such as blogs and video conferences, this team helped connect 38 schools across the US and one school in Taiwan to support their fundraising efforts.

Christopher Cook, Information Systems and Computing
Peter Heverin, Information Systems and Computing
Naila Machado, Information Systems and Computing
Gregory D. Palmer, Information Systems and Computing
Heather Weisse Walsh, Information Systems and Computing

The Non-Profit Institute Team is being recognized for providing tools to local non-profit leaders to enhance their leadership and management skills and help advance the overall effectiveness of their organizations. This team also connected local non-profits with resources at Penn and in the broader community to support their efforts in running a successful organization.

Valerie Dorsey Allen, African-American Resource Center
Glenn Bryan, Office of Government and Community Affairs
Ira Harkavy, Netter Center for Community Partnerships
Dani Howard, School of Arts & Sciences
Albert Johnson, Human Resources
Leslie Mellet, Office of the President
Jacqueline Posey, University Communications
Pamela Robinson, University Life
Isabel Sampson-Mapp, Netter Center for Community Partnerships
Linda Satchell, Netter Center for Community Partnerships
Eleanor Sharpe, Netter Center for Community Partnerships
Debra M. Sokalczuk, School of Arts & Sciences
Joann Weeks, Netter Center for Community Partnerships

2010 Selection Committee

Peter Degnan, Senior Associate Dean of the Wharton School
Eric Furda, Dean of Admissions
Reverend Charles Howard, University Chaplain
Lubna Mian, Director of Faculty Development and Equity,  Office of the Provost
Dr. Harvey Rubin, Chair of the Faculty Senate and Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine
Marilyn Jordan Taylor, Dean of Penn Design
Dr. Kenneth Grcich, Chair of Penn Professional Staff Assembly
Peter Rockett, Weekly-Paid Professional Staff Assembly
Laurie Cousart, 2009 Models Honoree
Ashley Darnell, 2009 Models Honoree
Bryan Hopkins, 2009 Models Honoree
Bryan Isola, 2009 Models Honoree
Dana Matkevich, 2009 Models Honoree
Dr. Thomas Reda, 2009 Models Honoree
Isabel Sampson-Mapp, 2009 Models Honoree
Glenn Stieffenhofer, 2009 Models Honoree
Dr. Vanessa Stoloff, 2009 Models Honoree
Melissa von Stade, 2009 Models Honoree



Almanac - February 23, 2010, Volume 56, No. 23