Print This Issue

Honors and Other Things
September 29, 2009, Volume 56, No. 05

Carnegie Award: President Gutmann

University of Pennsylvania President, Amy Gutmann

Penn President Amy Gutmann, is one of four higher-education leaders honored with a 2009 Carnegie Corporation Academic Leadership Award.

The award recognizes presidents and chancellors who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in undergraduate education, both teaching and research; the development of major interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary undergraduate and graduate programs that aim to bridge the gulf between the theoretical and the practical; focused university outreach to their local communities and cooperative efforts with business, education and civic leaders on initiatives such as K-12 school reform; and the expansion and improvement of international initiatives and global engagement.

The Carnegie Corporation Board of Trustees honors these individuals with grants of $500,000 each to be used at the leader’s discretion toward his or her academic priorities at their institutions.




Board of Directors: Dr. Ersek
Dr. Mary Ersek, associate professor in the School of Nursing, has been elected to serve a second term on the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association Board of Directors. Dr. Ersek also serves as associate director for the Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence and the Penn Center for Integrative Science in Aging.

Phillies-Goya Service Award: Mr. Irizarry


Johnny Irizarry, director of La Casa Latina: The Center for Hispanic Excellence, was awarded the Phillies-Goya Family Service award along with his family. The Irizarry family earned the award for their work in the community, and was honored at the Goya Latino Family Celebration Night and Food Drive on September 2 before the home baseball game. The event pays tribute to Hispanic Heritage Month.







Ohio State Alumni Award: Dr. Kaufman
Dr. Russel E. Kaufman, president and CEO of the Wistar Institute, has earned the 2009 Professional Achievement Award from the Ohio State University Alumni Association. The award recognizes a “superb record” of career accomplishments and community service. With long-standing interests in both basic and applied cancer research, Dr. Kaufman has held leadership positions in national academic organizations with internal medicine and on a number of committees.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Lee
Dr. Virginia M.-Y. Lee, the John H. Ware 3rd Professor in Alzheimer’s Research in the department of pathology and laboratory medicine in the School of Medicine, has been awarded the 2009 Khalid Iqbal Lifetime Achievement Award by the Alzheimer’s Association. She was awarded for her achievements in advancing Alzheimer’s research at the association’s 2009 International Conference on Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Lee’s research focuses on determining the genesis and roles of various normal and abnormal brain proteins thought to be keys to the cause and progression of numerous brain diseases, including Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Lee is also the director of the Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research.

Excellence in Education: Dr. Stringer
Dr. Marilyn Stringer, associate professor and clinician of women’s health nursing, received the 2009 Excellence in Education Award, presented by the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. She is also director of the Women’s Health Care Nurse Practitioner program. The award was presented to Dr. Stringer for her commitment to educating patients and health care providers in order to improve patient health, health care, and public policy.

Top Physician: Dr. Tokazewski
South Jersey Magazine has named Dr. Jeffrey Thomas Tokazewski,a Penn Medicine physician and clinical associate professor in the School of Medicine, a Top Physician in its yearly review of doctors. Top Doctors must receive the highest scores on the HealthGrades patient experience survey. Dr. Tokazewski is an attending physician at PENNCare’s South Jersey Family Medicine practice, part of Penn Medicine’s Clinical Care Associates.

Clarion Award: FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org’s coverage of the 2008 election has earned the website a Clarion Award from the Association for Women in Communications. This honor, named for the medieval trumpet known for its clarity, follows FactCheck.org winning a Webby “People’s Voice” Award. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University.

Almanac - September 29, 2009, Volume 56, No. 05