Print This Issue

Honors & Other Things
May 26, 2009, Volume 55, No. 34

2009 Model Supervisor Award Winner

At this year’s Models of Excellence Ceremony on April 16, the Model Supervisor Award was presented to Pat Brennan, director of Special Services in the Division of Public Safety. She received a symbol of appreciation and a $500 cash award in honor of this recognition. She was selected from three finalists for the 2009 Model Supervisor Award, each of whom was nominated for their outstanding supervisory qualities. The two other finalists were John Gustafson, assistant manager for Transportation and Parking in the Business Services Division and Melissa von Stade, director of development for the Morris Arboretum, both of whom also received a symbol of appreciation and a $250 cash award. For more information, see www.hr.upenn.edu/quality/models. On this site, there are commemorative videos celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Models of Excellence Program.

Ivy Day Award Recipients

Ivy Stone The 2009 Ivy Stone was designed by Penina Braffman, C’09. Made from Vermont gray granite, the stone will be located on the exterior wall of the Pottruck Center, near the entrance.

Senior Honor Awards

Althea K. Hottel Award: Drew Feith Tye C’09

Gaylord P. Harnwell Award: Rahima F. Dosani C’09

David R. Goddard Award: Erica M. Evans C’09

R. Jean Brownlee Award: Mia Kumagai C’09

Spoon Award: Brett A. Perlmutter C’09

Bowl Award: Jamie McCarthy ENG’09 W’09

Cane Award: Noah L. Aptekar C’09

Spade Award: Wilson K. Tong C’09

Leadership Awards

Association of Alumnae Fathers’ Trophy: Alexander S. Grendi C’09

Class of 1915 Award: Natalie M. Capuano C’09

James Howard Weiss Memorial Award: Kathleen E. Wu ENG’09 W’09

Penn Student Agencies Award: Annie L. Lee C’09

Penn Alumni Student Awards of Merit: Jing Jin C’09; Anthony H. Maggio C’09; Camille L. Richard C’09; Jennifer I. Tintenfass C’09

James Brister Society Student Leadership Award: Moses S. Esema W’09

Association of Latino Alumni Student Leadership Award: Lany L. Villalobos C’09

Association of Native Alumni Student Leadership Award: Noemia King C’09

Black Alumni Society Student Leadership Award: Erica M. Evans C’09

Asian Alumni Network Student Leadership Award: Benjamin M. Alisuag C’09

LGBT Alumni Association Student Leadership Award: Yana Sigal Nu’09

Trustees’ Council of Penn Women Leadership Award: Lisa Y. Zhu W’09

William A. Levi Kite & Key Society Award for Service and Scholarship: Daniel J. Lustig ENG’09

Sol Feinstone Undergraduate Awards: Derek C. Mazique C’09; Philip K. Asare ENG’10; Christine E. Nieves C’10

Dr. Klein: National Academy of Science

Dr. Michael Klein, Hepburn Professor of Physical Science in the department of chemistry, was one of 72 new members elected into the National Academy of Science. Members are recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Best Workplaces for Commuters

Penn has been designated as one of the Best Workplaces for Commuters (BWC) by the National Center for Transit Research (NCTR) at the University of South Florida for meeting the Environmental Protection Agency’s National Standard of Excellence for outstanding commuter benefits. These benefits promote energy conservation by reducing traffic congestion and related air pollution.

“Your participation in the Best Workplaces for Commuters program truly demonstrates your leadership and commitment to improving the quality of life for your employees while reducing traffic congestion, promoting energy conservation and reducing related air pollution in your community. Out of the millions of employers in the United States, you are in the top one percent known as the Best Workplaces for Commuters.” See www.bestworkplaces.org/index.htm

Publication Services: Design Awards

Penn Publication Services has received two prestigious Design Awards from the Graphic Arts Association (GAA) 2009 Graphic Communications Competition: Franklin Award for Finishing, for the Creating Connections Brochure for the Penn Club of New York and Best of Design, for the Shoemaker Invite for the Office of the University Secretary. See www.upenn.edu/publicationservices ‘What’s New in Publication Services.’

Creating Connections


Shoemaker Invite


Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students

The Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students, established in 2000, is  the only graduate student teaching award that is University-wide. A reception was held April 28. 


Front row: Hannah Voorhees, Laura Napolitano, Fern Lin, Nathaniel Prottas, Shalini Roy, Charles Sharpe;  Back row:  Goran Lynch, Roshan Abraham,  Philip Ernst , Greg Hall, Andrew Binns, Roy Anati, Jon Pogach

2009 Awardees:

Roshan Abraham, classical studies

Roy Anati, computer and information sciences

Philip Ernst, statistics

Greg Hall, philosophy & law

Fern Lin, marketing

Goran Lynch, electrical and systems engineering

Laura Napolitano, sociology

Jon Pogach, economics

Nathaniel Prottas, history of art

Shalini Roy, economics

Charles Sharpe, history

Hannah Voorhees, anthropology

Honorable Mention:

Jason Devito, math

Peng Du, math

Willie Gin, political science

Jacob Goldberg, chemistry

Matt Mongiello, political science

Chase Richards, history

Eric Trager, political science

FactCheck.org: Webby Award
FactCheck.org, a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, was voted best political website in the 2009 Webby “People’s Voice” competition, for the third year in a row. FactCheck.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in US politics. Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.



Almanac - May 26, 2009 Volume 55, No. 34