ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 05/26/09, School of Dental Medicine Teaching Awards - Almanac, Vol. 55, No. 34
Print This Issue

School of Dental Medicine 2009 Teaching Awards
May 26, 2009, Volume 55, No. 34

Penn Dental Medicine faculty members were recognized for excellence in teaching as part of the School’s Senior Farewell ceremony for the graduating Class of 2009. Held May 12 at the Ritz-Carlton in Center City, this annual event, presented by the Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society, celebrates the passage of students to professional dentistry. Each year, the graduating class honors members of the faculty with teaching awards. This year’s recipients included the following:

Senior Outstanding Teaching Award


Presented to a faculty member who has gone beyond the scope of his/her responsibilities to significantly impact the class’s education at Penn Dental Medicine. For the third consecutive year, the Senior Outstanding Teaching Award has been presented to Dr. Arthur Kuperstein, assistant professor-clinician educator of oral medicine. Dr. Kuperstein has been with the School since 2002, currently serving as a clinical instructor for third- and fourth-year students. He is also course director and lecturer of the School’s radiology courses. Dr. Kuperstein is a past recipient of the Joseph L.T. Appleton Award.


The Joseph L. T. Appleton Award


Presented to a part-time faculty member for excellence in clinical teaching. This year’s recipient is Dr. Scott Odell (D’82), clinical associate in the department of oral medicine. Dr. Odell has been part of the School’s faculty since 2007. He currently teaches diagnostic radiology in the department’s division of radiology and in the Emergency Clinic. The Appleton Award is named in honor of Dr. Appleton, a 1914 alumnus of Penn Dental Medicine, who served as dean of the School from 1941 to 1951. The award was founded in 1979 by Dr. Abram Cohen, a member of the Class of 1923 and father of Dean Emeritus D. Walter Cohen, Class of 1950.


The Basic Science Award


Presented for excellence in teaching within the basic sciences. Dr. Elliot Hersh, professor of oral surgery and pharmacology, has been selected as this year’s honoree. A member of the Penn Dental Medicine since 1988, this is the sixteenth time Dr. Hersh has been recognized with the award. He is also a past recipient of the University of Pennsylvania’s Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. The course director of the second-year Pharmacology course, Dr. Hersh is also an internationally known clinical researcher in the areas of acute pain and local anesthesia.


The Robert E. DeRevere Award


Presented for excellence in preclinical teaching by a part-time faculty member. This year’s recipient is Dr. Nathan Kobrin, director of preclinical lab and clinical associate professor in the department of preventive and restorative sciences. Dr. Kobrin has served the School as an instructor since 1993. This is the third consecutive year and eighth time Dr. Kobrin has received the Robert E. DeRevere Award, named in honor of Dr. DeRevere, a member of the Penn Dental Medicine Class of 1945, who served on the School’s faculty.


The Earle Bank Hoyt Award


Presented for excellence in teaching to a Penn Dental Medicine graduate who is a full-time junior faculty member. Dr. Margrit Maggio (D’87), assistant professor of restorative dentistry-clinician educator in the department of preventive and restorative sciences, is this year’s recipient. Dr. Maggio, who also serves as director of operative dentistry, has been a member of the School’s faculty since 1996. This award was established by a grateful patient in honor of Dr. Hoyt, a distinguished clinician and educator and member of the Class of 1918.



Almanac - May 26, 2009, Volume 55, No. 34