ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 2/24/09, Honors and Other Things - Almanac, Vol. 55, No. 23
Print This Issue

Honors & Other Things
February 24, 2009, Volume 55, No. 23

Academy of Microbiology Fellows

The following four members of the department of microbiology in the School of Medicine have been elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. Election to fellowship is in recognition of their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Dr. Frederic D. Bushman, professor of microbiology

Dr. Nigel W. Fraser, professor of microbiology

Dr. Yvonne Paterson, professor of microbiology

Dr. Erle S. Robertson, professor of microbiology

Mr. Heilmeier: Inventors Hall of Fame

George Heilmeier, overseer in the School of Engineering and Applied Science, is among 15 new members of the National Inventors Hall of Fame. Mr. Heilmeier worked on the first liquid crystal displays at RCA Laboratories in Princeton, New Jersey.

All of the new inductees are connected in some way to products based on the development 50 years ago of electronic circuits built on small silicon wafers, leading to many of the things modern society depends on daily, such as laptop computers, cell phones, automated banking and theater projectors.

Dr. Kazak: APF Cummings Prize

The American Psychological Foundation (APF) Board of Trustees has named Dr. Anne E. Kazak, professor of pediatrics and psychiatry at the School of Medicine, as the 2009 APF Cummings Prize recipient. The $50,000 Cummings Prize recognizes a psychologist whose career has expanded the role of the psychologist as a primary care provider working side-by-side with primary care physicians in the setting of organized healthcare systems.

A licensed clinical psychologist, Dr. Kazak is the director of the department of psychology, deputy director of the Behavioral Health Center and director of the Center for Pediatric Traumatic Stress, at CHOP.

Dr. Kazak plans to use the prize monies to advance her work in pediatric healthcare settings and to develop materials that would be useful for patients, families, and healthcare providers. The Prize will be presented in August.

Dr. Lior: International Committee

Dr. Noam Lior, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics in SEAS, was elected chairman of the International Scientific Committee for the Dubrovnik International Conferences on “Sustainable Development of Energy, Water and Environmental Systems.” The conference will take place September 30 through October 3 in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

Sloan Research Fellows

Two Penn professors have been awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship: Dr. Stephan Zdancewic, associate professor of computer and information science in SEAS; and Dr. Joshua Plotkin, assistant professor of biology (SAS) and computer and information science (SEAS). 

The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise.

These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 118 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.

Dr. Zdancewic’s research focus on the problem of building software that is reliable, robust, and secure by construction research focuses on the problem of building software that is reliable, robust, and secure by construction. Dr. Plotkin uses mathematics and computation to study questions in evolutionary biology.

Dean Meleis: Girls Scouts’ Take the Lead Hall of Fame


Dr. Afaf I. Meleis, Margaret Bond Simon Dean of Nursing at the School of Nursing, will be inducted into Girl Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania’s 23rd Annual Take the Lead Hall of Fame at an awards gala on March 2.

For more than two decades Girl Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania (GSEP) has honored women like Dr. Meleis who demonstrate the highest levels of achievement in their fields and serve as role models to the next generation of women leaders.

Dr. Meleis is the director of the School’s World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Center for Nursing and Midwifery Leadership. Her scholarship is focused on global health, immigrant and international health.  Her life’s work has also been dedicated to advancing excellence in women’s healthcare issues around the world. Dr. Meleis’ research programs include studies on role integration and health of vulnerable women in the US and in developing countries.

The Take the Lead awards ceremony is conducted entirely by Girl Scouts who also have the opportunity to meet one-on-one with the honorees and learn from them. Funds raised from Take the Lead provide support to the 42,000 girls and 14,000 volunteers of the Girl Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania.



DPS No.1 for Safety

For the second year in a row, Penn’s Division of Public Safety was recognized as the number one institution for safety in the University & College category amongst the top 500 security organizations, as ranked by Security Magazine’s 2008 Security 500 Survey. Maureen Rush, vice president of public safety said, “Crime is the combination of motive and opportunity. We can’t change motive, so we work to eliminate the opportunity."

Almanac - February 24, 2009 Volume 55, No. 23