Print This Issue

SENATE From the Senate Office
January 13, 2009, Volume 55, No. 17

Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule:

To: Members of the Standing Faculty

From: Sherrill L. Adams, Chair

Nominations for Offices Requested

In accordance with the Rules of the Faculty Senate you are invited to suggest candidates for the posts and terms stated below, with supporting letters if desired. Candidates’ names should be submitted promptly to Jeffrey Winkler, Chair of the Senate Nominating Committee by telephone at (215) 898-0052 or by e-mail to winkler@sas.upenn.edu.

The following posts are to be filled for 2009-2010:

•    Chair-elect: (Incumbent: Harvey Rubin)

•    Secretary-elect: (Incumbent: Therese Richmond)

•    Four At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (3-yr term) (Incumbents: Sohrab Rabii, James Ross, and Emma Furth)

•    Two Assistant Professor Members of the Senate Executive Committee (2-yr term) (Incumbents: Christine Bradway and William Burke-White)

•    Three Members of the Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (3-yr term) (Incumbents: Alan Charles Kors, Richard Ross, and Carolyn Marvin)

•    Two Members of the Senate Committee on the Economic Status of the Faculty (3-yr term) (Incumbent: Laura Perna)

Nominating Committee Elected

The Senate Executive Committee’s slate of nominees for the Senate Nominating Committee was circulated to the Senate Membership on November 25, 2008. No additional nominations by petition have been received within the prescribed time. Therefore, according to the Senate Rules, the Executive Committee’s slate is declared elected.

Those elected are:

•    Clifford Deutschman (SOM/Anesthesia)

•    Vivian Gadsden (GSE)

•    Roberta Iverson (Social Policy & Practice)

•    Madeleine Joullie (SAS/Chemistry)

•    Grace Kao (SAS/Sociology)

•    Serena Mayeri (Law)

•    Holly Pittman (SAS/History of Art)

•    Dan Raff (Wharton)

•    Jeffrey Winkler (SAS/Chemistry), Chair


Almanac - January 13, 2009, Volume 55, No. 17