Print This Issue

Dental Teaching Awards
May 27, 2008, Volume 54, No. 34

Members of the Penn Dental Medicine faculty were recognized for excellence in teaching as part of the School’s Senior Farewell 2008. This annual event, presented by the Penn Dental Medicine Alumni Society, celebrates the passage of students to professional dentistry, and each year, members of the graduating class honor faculty members with teaching awards.


The Senior Outstanding Teaching Award—presented to a faculty member who has gone beyond the scope of his/her responsibilities to significantly impact the class’s education at Penn Dental Medicine. For the second year in a row, the Senior Outstanding Teaching Award has been presented to Dr. Arthur Kuperstein, lecturer of oral medicine. Dr. Kuperstein has been with the School since 2002, currently serving as a clinical instructor for third- and fourth-year students. He is also course director and lecturer of the School’s radiology courses. In 2006, Dr. Kuperstein also received the Joseph LT Appleton Award.


The Joseph LT Appleton Award—presented to a part-time faculty member for excellence in clinical teaching. The Appleton Award is named in honor of Dr. Appleton, a 1914 alumnus of Penn Dental Medicine, who served as dean of the School from 1941 to 1951. The award was founded in 1979 by Dr. Abram Cohen, a member of the Class of 1923 and father of Dean Emeritus D. Walter Cohen, Class of 1950. This year’s recipient is Dr. Paul Berson (GD ’77), clinical assistant professor in the department of preventive and restorative sciences. Dr. Berson has been on faculty since 1999, serving as a group leader for the clinical instruction of third- and fourth-year students in restorative dentistry.


The Basic Science Award—presented for excellence in teaching within the basic sciences. Dr. Elliot Hersh, professor of oral surgery and pharmacology, is this year’s honoree. Dr. Hersh has been teaching at Penn Dental Medicine since 1988. This is the fifteenth time Dr. Hersh has been recognized with this award, and he is also a past recipient of the University’s Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. The course director of the second-year Pharmacology course, Dr. Hersh is an internationally known clinical researcher in the areas of acute pain and local anesthesia.


The Robert E. DeRevere Award—presented for excellence in preclinical teaching by a part-time faculty member. This is named in honor of Dr. DeRevere, a member of the Penn Dental Medicine Class of 1945, who served on the faculty. This year’s recipient is Dr. Nathan Kobrin, director of Preclinical Lab and clinical associate professor in the department of preventive and restorative sciences. Dr. Kobrin has served as an instructor since 1993. This is the seventh time Dr. Kobrin has received the Robert E. DeRevere Award.


The Earle Bank Hoyt Award—presented for excellence in teaching to a Penn Dental Medicine graduate who is a full-time junior faculty member. This award was established by a grateful patient in honor of Dr. Hoyt, a distinguished clinician, educator and member of the Class of 1918. Dr. Margrit Maggio (D ’87), assistant professor of restorative dentistry-clinician educator in the department of preventive and restorative sciences, is this year’s recipient. Dr. Maggio, who also serves as director of Operative Dentistry, has been a member of the faculty since 1996.





Almanac - May 27, 2008 , Volume 54, No. 34