Print This Issue

Consultative Review Committee for Nursing Dean Reappointment
May 6, 2008, Volume 54, No. 32

President Amy Gutmann and Provost Ronald Daniels have announced the formation of a Consultative Review Committee to advise them on the reappointment of Dr. Afaf Meleis as Dean of the School of Nursing. Dean Meleis’ initial term as Dean will end on December 31, 2009.  University policy requires that a Consultative Review Committee be established to advise the President and Provost whenever the reappointment of a Dean is contemplated. In addition, each member of the standing faculty of the Dean’s school is given the opportunity to give confidential advice and views directly to the President and Provost.

The members of the Consultative Review Committee on the Reappointment of Afaf Meleis as Dean of the School of Nursing are:

Chair: Rebecca Bushnell, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences

Faculty: Jane Barnsteiner, Nursing

Marjorie Bowman, Medicine

Robert C. Hornik, Communication

Jennifer Pinto-Martin, Nursing

Therese Richmond, Nursing

Jorge J. Santiago, SEAS

Lisa Lewis, Nursing

Students: Heather Cunningham, BSN student, Nursing

Linda Herrmann, PhD student, Nursing

Alumni Representative: Andrea Berry LaPorte, Nursing ’69

Staff to the Committee: Stephen P. Steinberg, President’s Office

The Review Committee welcomes and encourages input from all members of the Penn community. Communications may be directed to any member of the Committee, but are most conveniently forwarded to Dr. Stephen P. Steinberg (sps@pobox.upenn.edu), who is supporting the review process. Comments should be submitted no later than June 30, 2008.







Almanac - May 6, 2008, Volume 54, No. 32