ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 04/08/08, Senate - Almanac, Vol. 54, No. 28
Print This Issue

SENATE From the Senate Office
April 8, 2008, Volume 54, No. 28

The following agenda is published in accordance with Faculty Senate Rules. Any member of the standing faculty may attend SEC meetings and observe. Questions may be directed to Sue White, executive assistant to the Senate Office either by telephone at (215) 898-6943, or by e-mail at senate@pobox.upenn.edu.

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda
Room 205 College Hall
Wednesday, April 16, 2008  3–5 p.m.

1. Approval of the Minutes of March 5, 2008 (2 minutes)

2. Chair’s Report (10 minutes)

3. Past-Chair’s Report on Academic Planning and Budget & Capital Council (3 minutes)

4. President’s Update for the Faculty Senate (45 minutes)

President Amy Gutmann

5. Senate Committee on Committees Ballot (5 minutes)

6. Discussion on Political Engagement at the University of Pennsylvania (30 minutes)

Assistant Professor Matthew Hartley and Professor Henry Teune

7. New Business


Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by
publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO:                 Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM:           Janice Madden, Chair, Nominating Committee

SUBJECT:    Senate Nominations 2008-2009

1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, official notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee’s slate of nominees for the incoming Senate Officers. The nominees, all of whom have indicated their willingness to serve, are:

Chair-elect: Harvey Rubin (School of Medicine/Infectious Diseases)

Secretary-elect: Gary Molander (School of Arts & Sciences/Chemistry)

Past-Secretary: (vacancy to complete term) Lawrence Levin (School of Dental Medicine)

At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee
(to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election):

• Peter Cappelli (Wharton School/Management)

• Emma Dillon (School of Arts & Sciences/Music)

• Janet Deatrick (School of Nursing)

• TBA*

At-large Member of the Senate Executive Committee
(vacancy to complete term)  (to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election): TBA*

One Assistant Professor Member of the Senate Executive Committee 
(to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election):

• Tulia Falleti (School of Arts & Sciences/Political Science)

Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility
(to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election):

• Amy Kaplan (School of Arts & Sciences/English)

• Sam Freeman (School of Arts & Sciences/Philosophy)

• Clifford Deutschman (School of Medicine/Anesthesia)

Senate Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility (vacancy to complete term)
(to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election):

• Lorraine Tulman (School of Nursing)

Senate Committee on Economic Status of the Faculty
(to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election):

• Sarah Kagan (School of Nursing)

• Daniel Raff (Wharton School/Management)

* At-large members (TBA) of the Senate Executive Committee will be announced in an issue of Almanac later this spring.

2. Again in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit additional nominations, which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least twenty-five valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than fourteen days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee. Petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Office, 109 Duhring Wing by 5 p.m., Tuesday, April 22.

3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected.



Almanac - April 8, 2008, Volume 54, No. 28