Print This Issue

Honors & Other Things
December 11, 2007, Volume 54, No. 15

Young Investigator: Dr. Artis


Dr. David Artis, assistant professor in pathobiology in the School of Veterinary Medicine, has received the Young Investigator Award  from the International Cytokine Society (ICS). The award includes $1,300 and covers the registration fee for the ICS annual meeting. The research of Dr. Artis focuses on the regulation of immunity and inflammation in the gastrointestinal tract.




Packard Fellowship: Dr. Burdick


Dr. Jason Burdick, assistant professor of bioengineering, has received a prestigious David and Lucile Packard Fellowship for his use of photopolymerized hydrogels to control stem-cell differentiation. Packard awards are given each year to only 20 promising young faculty from all fields of science and engineering. Each fellow will receive an unrestricted research grant of $625,000 over five years.




Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Delivoria-Papadopoulos


Dr. Maria Delivoria-Papadopoulos, professor emeritus of pediatrics and physiology,  was selected this year among thousands of candidates nationally to receive a lifetime achievement award for her dedication to improving the odds for at-risk newborns. Dr. Delivoria-Papadopoulos was honored for her nearly five decades of service by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., the healthcare research and information company, in March 2007.

A leader in the fields of neonatal-perinatal medicine, Dr. Delivoria-Papadopoulos has helped improve the lives of thousands of children through her medical practice and research. Her work includes studying the mechanisms of brain damage in infants and finding therapeutic interventions for extremely ill premature infants.





Heilmeier Faculty Award: Dr. Engheta


The Faculty Awards Committee of the School of Engineering and Applied Science has selected Dr. Nader Engheta, the H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering, as the 2008 recipient of the George H. Heilmeier Faculty Award for Excellence in Research. Named in honor of alumnus and Overseer George H. Heilmeier, this prestigious award recognizes his extraordinary research career and his leadership in technical innovation and public service. The distinction associated with the Heilmeier name has set very high standards for this award, and Dr. Engheta’s work on nano-optics and related metamaterial coatings has been cited as revolutionary and transformational.





Jeopardy! Champ: Ms. DiNucci

English PhD candidate Celeste DiNucci recently competed in and won the Jeopardy! Tournament of Champions. Currently, she is finishing her dissertation on Shakespeare and performance theater. Ms. DiNucci was awarded $250,000 for her participation in the annual tournament; the program aired November 16.

NSF CAREER Award: Dr. Nicoll


Dr. Steven B. Nicoll, assistant professor of bioengineering, received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his work “Polysaccharide-Based Biohybrid Constructs for Engineering of Cartilaginous Tissue.” The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that supports junior faculty within the context of their overall career development. It combines in a single program the support of research and education of the highest quality. This premier program emphasizes the importance the Foundation places on the early development of academic careers dedicated to stimulating the discovery process in which the excitement of research is enhanced by inspired teaching and enthusiastic learning.




Performance Excellence Award: Purchasing Services

Purchasing Services was awarded the Aberdeen Group’s 2007 Performance Excellence Award at the Chief Procurement Officer (CPO) Summit hosted by the Aberdeen Group in Boston on November 13-14. Purchasing Services received the award for harnessing the performance impacts of service chain activities and mastering methodologies for financial operational, and customer-centric performance excellence.

This is the second Aberdeen Group award earned by Penn. In 2006, Penn received the Best Practice in eProcurement Award.

Almanac - December 11, 2007 , Volume 54, No. 15