Print This Issue

SENATE From the Senate Office
April 10, 2007, Volume 53, No. 29

The following agenda is published in accordance with Faculty Senate Rules. Any member of the standing faculty can attend SEC meetings and observe. Questions may be directed to Sue White, executive assistant to the Senate Office,either by telephone at (215) 898-6943, or by e-mail at senate@pobox.upenn.edu.


Faculty Senate Executive Committee Agenda
Wednesday, April 18, 2007
2:30–5 p.m.
 College Hall, Room 205

1. Approval of the Minutes of March 21, 2007  (2 minutes)

2. Chair’s Report (10 minutes)

3. Past-Chair’s Report on Academic Planning and Budget & Capital Council (3 minutes)

4. Updates on the University (60 minutes)
President Amy Gutmann and Provost Ronald Daniels

5. Temporary Exclusion Policy Revision discussion and vote (45 minutes)
Senate Committee on Faculty and the Administration, Chair Claire Finkelstein

6. Senate Committee on Committees Ballot (5 minutes)

7. New Business


Under the Faculty Senate Rules, formal notification to members may be accomplished by publication in Almanac. The following is published under that rule.

TO:               Members of the Faculty Senate
FROM:         Vincent Price, Chair
SUBJECT:  Senate  Nominations 2007-2008*

* This list completes the slate of nominees published in the March 13, 2007 issue of Almanacwww.upenn.edu/almanac/volumes/v53/n25/sec.html. Listed below are: one At-large member of the Senate Executive Committee and one member of the Senate Committee on Economic Status of the Faculty.

1. In accordance with the Faculty Senate Rules, official notice is given of the Senate Nominating Committee’s slate of nominees for the incoming Senate Officers. The nominees, all of whom have indicated their willingness to serve, are:

At-large Members of the Senate Executive Committee (to serve a 3-year term beginning upon election):

• Lynn Lees (School of Arts & Sciences/History)

Senate Committee on Economic Status of the Faculty (to serve a 2-year term beginning upon election):

• David Pope (School of Engineering & Applied Science)

2. Again in accord with the Senate Rules you are invited to submit “additional nominations, which shall be accomplished via petitions containing at least 25 valid names and the signed approval of the candidate. All such petitions must be received no later than 14 days subsequent to the circulation of the nominees of the Nominating Committee. Nominations will automatically be closed 14 days after circulation of the slate of the Nominating Committee.” Petitions must be received by mail at the Faculty Senate, Box 12 College Hall/6303, or by hand at the Faculty Senate Office, 109 Duhring Wing by 5 p.m., Tuesday, April 24, 2007.

3. Under the same provision of the Senate Rules, if no additional nominations are received, the slate nominated by the Nominating Committee will be declared elected. Should additional nominations be received, an election will thereafter be held by mail ballot.

Almanac - April 10, 2007, Volume 53, No. 29