Print This Issue

Three Professors to Endowed Chairs in SAS
March 20, 2007, Volume 53, No. 26

Carol and Michael Lowenstein Endowed Term Professor

Dr. Cristina Bicchieri has been named the first Carol and Michael Lowenstein Endowed Term Professor.

Dr. Bicchieri is a member of the department of philosophy, the Psychology Graduate Group and the legal studies department in the Wharton School. She is the director of the Philosophy, Politics and Economics Program. Her research is at the borders of philosophy, psychology and behavioral economics. She works in behavioral decision making as applied to understanding pro-social behavior, the nature and dynamics of social norms, and the epistemic foundations of game theory. Her most recent book, The Grammar of Society: The Nature and Dynamics of Social Norms, was published in 2005 by Cambridge University Press. She has been awarded fellowships from Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin (Institute for Advanced Studies) and the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study in the Social Sciences. Dr. Bicchieri received her Ph.D. from Cambridge University.

This chair was established by Carol Bassok Lowenstein and Michael Lowenstein in 2005 to recognize the achievements of a faculty member in the field of behavioral economics. Mr. Lowenstein, C ’80, is a partner and co-founder of Kensico Capital Management. Mrs. Lowenstein, W ’80, is a former trader on Wall Street.


Ronald S. Lauder Endowed Term Associate Professor of History

Dr. Benjamin Nathans has been named the Ronald S. Lauder Endowed Term Associate Professor of History.

Dr. Nathans’ work focuses on imperial Russia and the Soviet Union, Russian intellectual history and modern Jewish history. His book Beyond the Pale: The Jewish Encounter With Late Imperial Russia won the Koret Prize in Jewish History; the Vucinich Prize in Russian, Eurasian and East European Studies; and the Lincoln Prize in Russian History and was a finalist for the National Jewish Book Award in History. He is a member of the Jewish Studies Program, the Graduate Group in Comparative Literature, and the Graduate Group in Germanic Languages and Literatures.

The Ronald Lauder Endowed Term Chair was established in 1991 by Ronald S. Lauder, W ’65. Mr. Lauder is the current chairman of Clinique Laboratories, LLC. He is former U.S. ambassador to Austria and has also served as deputy assistant secretary of defense for European and NATO affairs. He is the non-executive chairman of the board of directors of Central European Media Enterprises Ltd. and the former chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art.


Dr. Robert Weiss Professorship in Music

Dr. James Primosch has been appointed to the Dr. Robert Weiss Professorship in Music.

Dr. Primosch is a composer whose works have been performed by a long list of prestigious orchestras and soloists, including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra and soprano Dawn Upshaw. The recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, two prizes from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Pew Fellowship in the Arts, Dr. Primosch is currently working on his second commission from the Chicago Symphony. Recordings of his music have appeared on eight commercially released compact discs.

The Dr. Robert Weiss Professorship in Music was created in 1994 by George A. Weiss, W ’65, in memory of his father, who earned doctorates in chemistry and music from the University of Vienna and was a research chemist and concert pianist. Mr. Weiss is president of George A. Weiss Associates Inc., a money management firm based in Hartford, CT. He is the chair of the University Committee for Undergraduate Financial Aid and a member of the Board of Trustees.

Almanac - March 20, 2007, Volume 53, No. 26