ks6+Pf&Ô,YnRi$M^~HH  JoE-ǹy&qbw/o~?޼ C1A1uw 92b$C i456ǂ:'rjyO$JZ&aًKlnD#ƹvfvIو',v=%$TNcdgEV5iWtg\8&О1r@Җ y>e3F\  C#B(jW/#8yDG802ê[[fTF o^ӆ[XO0)D䔜J=%$+9õ@h;loj[{f:Z4*gN:®!$Cʴ>6RhM X_Oyާί9ϩ4wGD3щfљEԀTW)e4e\֠Ә}*ӓX[1%v"*DD7k.Ml MLKݷIrǮ,JpP^1bxmGˁF9%n{?Z?86;3zeS֪M<3jB Mp`L%dNw^3 ddZP^<%E`ָ N# Zf\gnM3[KJ_'Ut=QpF gh+cjT:s!7ԞԚUY u+>nU{Z `|`27 uqI"ru"Mqv=C9cX;hc-Pffq P]=8" YS\1*)k>՝_}0t$^YZ1lq#l07N"n5+a8i^& "hUM zVCA+>qOZx,VsW4E IFrD`,POSJ#Xz+6h4om̅Ři8 5(A`jh7?9hDzCCPVA81@Fqk$麮5Gff^t:^BЊº(ƃs^"X`37MZ 3<2!nc *6GLkW,sC{Y2`: R10S"ӸSmXm!u5u=7 1@1}RS :޺CL惇?܄U?hnŀ\`E,Vwǵ>h?>3º_]B|NWyiZsw@EUPQM~]8.\:K̍pXl` ~ 47,HJ- .qe3- #4[Is0FW9jY2#̺PlQG A0@;9l7 KBBN@n?+,56f?+"w^ټoPK$w!8CoL'1^f$оn67ءUasb !eܘ쥫3}sZn`ChЪ6:*YR)uߔy2:&f&9+*uJHjƓ}XNjL8_ȘRu@cޑ7/^*~q 8l,=*֞߻ß~"pw>(A?ݣaFLK*?Ow 1$mj $jl׏V~`"WqlUfa_y5O]κ.ƾqg1F3r{ iٞ0OaU fZOsKU٧ 5QK4cb ffTtirrk%6Lss}wߕ)vHlN1f3<6"bSyr͜p"e:MFLL3yC15Z9,vo[q)mԨS ,xd4YR,ݫmF>;S]&apV+2KHq&y6]y @eQ9J?:;b}3ĭY!g\OTeCO*%qA2d#dp 5w|˷ĞUbI(L]{.Rɏ7'G7O>׼FjSvON`R$H'/z[H9 ,oFcSc>f,ɬ{ah/rnh?n4O==l>i*=$c'rR~HաjU0 єz \ܩ &@@q!?O5/G3(\۝UiZ|Wm^ި5P[< +yc"=C'\:E.|`*Mz1´h&b ̛\ 03/13/07, Distinguished International Scholars Awards: March 30 - Almanac, Vol. 53, No. 25
Print This Issue

Distinguished International Scholars Awards: March 30
March 13, 2007, Volume 53, No. 25

The Office of the Provost announces three Distinguished International Scholars awards:

Dr. Jacalyn Duffin, from Queen’s University in Ontario, Canada; Dr. Gernot Böhme, from the Technical University of Darmstadt and the Max Planck Institute in Germany; Dr. Peter Drysdale of the Australian National University.

The Distinguished International Scholars program offers grants of up to $20,000 to bring a distinguished scholar to campus in order to contribute significantly to an undergraduate course. The program is designed to further global engagement in undergraduate education and deepen Penn’s ties to the world’s leading universities and scholars. The awardees were chosen from a pool of applications submitted during the fall term of 2006.

The next application cycle has a deadline of March 30, 2007. Contact Rob Nelson at assocprv@pobox.upenn.edu or (215) 898-7227 for more information.

Here is a list of the three awardees from the fall 2006 applications:

• Professor Jacalyn Duffin, the Hannah Professor in the History of Medicine at Queen’s University in Ontario will be hosted by Professor Beth Linker in the Department of History and Sociology of Science. Dr. Duffin, a leading scholar of Canadian healthcare policy, will be involved in teaching American Health Policy (HSOC-150) in the fall of 2007, bringing a comparative perspective to the course.

• Professor Gernot Böhme, a distinguished scholar of science and bioethics is a Professor of Philosophy at the Technical University of Darmstadt and a research fellow at the Max Planck Institute in Starnberg. He will be hosted by Professor William LaFleur of the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations and will be involved in teaching the freshman seminar “Medicine, Culture, and Bioethics” (EALC 063) and “Introduction to Japanese Thought” (EALC 160/560) in the spring of 2007.

• Professor Peter Drysdale, the Emeritus Professor of Economics at the Australian National University and an eminent scholar of the economics of East Asia will be hosted by Professor Jennifer Amyx of the Department of Political Science. Dr. Drysdale will be involved in teaching a seminar on U.S. foreign policy in East Asia (PSCI 398) and Political Economy of East Asia (PSCI 214) in the fall of 2007. He will also participate in a symposium marking the tenth anniversary of the Asian financial crisis in 1997.

Almanac - March 13, 2007, Volume 53, No. 25