Print This Issue

Penn Pro Women Awards: March 23
March 13, 2007, Volume 53, No. 25

The Penn Professional Women’s Network (PPWN) invites you to nominate candidates for our annual awards. These will be presented at the awards breakfast scheduled on April 10, 2007, at 8:15 a.m., in the Levy Conference Center in Silverman Hall of the Law School, 34th and Chestnut Streets.

Nominations are invited for the following awards:

The Lenore Rowe Williams Award: In 1984, PPWN received a bequest from Lenore Rowe Williams, wife of former provost Edwin B. Williams. In her honor, AWFA (now PPWN) established an award to be given each year to an outstanding female scholar or leader. Preference will be given to a distinguished woman, affiliated with Penn, whose contributions extend within and beyond our campus.

The Alice Paul Awards: Named in honor of Dr. Alice Paul—graduate of Penn, suffragist leader, founder of the National Women’s Party, author of the Equal Rights Amendment, and internationally known humanitarian—the awards are presented to undergraduate or graduate women in recognition of their outstanding service to women. We wish to honor those who made contributions to women in the Penn community.

The Robert E. Davies Award: This award is in honor of the late feminist and distinguished Penn scholar. The award will be bestowed on an individual involved in social change.

The Lynda Hart Award, established in Spring 2001: The Lynda Hart Award is given to a woman student who has made an outstanding contribution to the artistic life of the Penn campus. The award is in memory of Lynda Hart, professor of English, who was a mentor to many and a moving force behind the Women’s Theater Festival.

The Judith Seitz Rodin Prize for Innovative Leadership: This award is given to a junior or senior woman who has demonstrated innovative leadership through a program, service, or scholarly activity. The award was established in Spring 2004.

With your nomination, include the following: specify award; name of nominee; the nature of the nominee's achievement and why you consider the contribution to be meritorious; position of nominee, mailing address, phone number, e-mail; your name, position, mailing address, phone number, e-mail.

Please submit nominations by March 23, 2007 to:Kristin Davidson, College of Arts & Sciences, 120 Logan Hall/6304, kdavidsn@sas.upenn.edu, (215) 573-3416.

If your nominee is selected, we will invite you to say a few words of introduction on her behalf.

Penn Professional Women’s Network Awards Committee:

—Regina Austin, Law School
—Kristin Davidson, SAS
—Nancy McCue, Housing and Conference Services

Almanac - March 13, 2007, Volume 53, No. 25