Print This Issue

From the President and Provost
January 23, 2007, Volume 53, No. 19

Wharton Dean Search Committee

President Amy Gutmann and Provost Ronald Daniels have announced the formation of a Consultative Committee to advise them on the selection of a new Dean of the Wharton School, to succeed Patrick Harker, who has resigned to assume the presidency of the University of Delaware on July 1, 2007.  The Committee will be chaired by Dean Eduardo Glandt of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.  The members of the Committee are:


Eduardo D. Glandt (Engineering)–Chair
David A. Asch (Medicine, Health Care Management, and Economics)
Michael R. Gibbons (Finance)
John C. Hershey (Operations and Information Management)
Daniel A. Levinthal (Management)
Olivia S. Mitchell (Insurance and Risk Management)
G. Richard Shell (Legal Studies and Business Ethics)
Diana C. Mutz (Political Science and Communication)

Wharton Students:

Richard Hillen (Undergraduate Student)
Jay Dearborn (Graduate Student)

Wharton Alumni:

Beth Kaplan (W’80, WG’81)
William Mack (W’61)

Staff to the Committee:

Stephen P. Steinberg (President’s Office)

Jon M. Huntsman, Vice Chair of the University’s Board of Trustees and Chair of the Wharton School Board of Overseers, will serve Of Counsel to the President during this search.

The Committee will be aided in its work by Kenneth Kring of the executive search firm Heidrick and Struggles.

The Committee welcomes and encourages input from all members of the Penn community. Communications may be directed to Dr. Steinberg at sps@pobox.upenn.edu.

Almanac - January 23, 2007, Volume 53, No. 19