Print This Issue

From The President and Provost
September 5, 2006, Volume 53, No. 2

GSE Dean Search Committee

President Amy Gutmann and Provost Ronald Daniels have announced the formation of a Consultative Committee to advise them on the selection of a new Dean of the Graduate School of Education.  The new dean will succeed Susan Fuhrman, who stepped down at the end of July to become the president of Teachers College of Columbia University.  The Committee will be chaired by Dean Michael Fitts of the Law School. 

The members of the Committee are:

Michael Fitts (Law)—Chair
Vivian Gadsden (Education)
Joan Goodman (Education)
Matthew Hartley (Education)
Rebecca Maynard (Education)
Rogers Smith (Political Science)
Howard Stevenson (Education)
Brian Strom (Biostatistics and Epidemiology)

GSE Students:
Shannon Sauro (Ph.D. Student)
Debra Williams (Ed.D. Student)
GSE Alumni and Overseer Representatives:
Judy Berkowitz, (Chair, GSE Board
of Overseers)
Amy Silverstein Sichel (GSE Alumna)
Staff to the Committee
Stephen P. Steinberg (President’s Office)

The Committee will be aided in its work by Barbara Stevens, Erika Miller, and Katherine Jacobs of the executive search firm of Isaacson, Miller.

The Committee welcomes and encourage input and nominations from all members of the Penn community. Communications may be directed to Dr. Steinberg at sps@pobox.upenn.edu.



Almanac - September 5, 2006, Volume 53, No. 2