Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


2006 Models of Excellence Award

Models of ExcellenceThe Division of Human Resources is pleased to announce the 2006 Models of Excellence nominees and award winners.  The Models of Excellence program honors, awards and celebrates outstanding staff member achievements.  The 2006 Selection Committee of campus leaders considered 19 nominations with 116 staff members. For a complete listing of all winners and nominees, visit the Human Resources website at www.hr.upenn.edu/quality/models/default.asp.

Award Winners 

The Committee selected the following five nominations of 33 staff members for this year’s recognition.  They were chosen for making significant contributions to the University that embodied the standards of excellence for this program, including creativity, leadership, extraordinary service, and cost-effectiveness.

Models of Excellence

• Elise Betz, Director, Office of Alumni Relations

For dramatically changing and upgrading the Senior Class Gift Program by encouraging class pride and unity and cultivating a culture of giving within the graduating class before its departure from Penn.

 • Nicola M. Gentili, Associate Director of Cinema Studies, Department of English

For providing important leadership during the establishment of the highly valued new Cinema Studies Program for Penn.

   The Library Diversity Team

For supporting the Penn Compact goals of inclusion by recruiting under-represented minorities to the profession of academic librarianship while working broadly within the Philadelphia area, with a focus on the West Philadelphia community.

Ralph J. De Lucia, Associate Director, Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunities Programs

Ancil George, Librarian, Africana Studies, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

Rachelle Nelson, Head, Shared Cataloging Department, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

Valerie Pena, Director, Health Sciences Libraries, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

Jeanne Shuttleworth, Head, Librarian Electronic Acquisitions, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library

Honorable Mentions

 • Freshman Move In/New Student Orientation Team

For implementing an integrated strategy to utilize CampusExpress, 600+ student volunteers, and other campus resources to significantly improve the move-in experience for freshmen and their families.

Mike Doherty, Area Manager Facilities & Real Estate Services

David Fox, Associate Director, Office of College Houses & Academic Services

Derek Hunsberger, Senior Residential Service Administrator, Housing and Conference Services

Barry Lasley, Residential Service Administrator, Housing and Conference Services

Crystal Little, Information Center Manager, Housing and Conference Services

Troy Majnerick, NSO Coordinator Office of College Houses & Academic Services

Dana Matkevich, Communications Coordinator Housing and Conference Services

Nancy McCue, Associate Director, Housing Operations, Housing and Conference Services

Gordon R. Rickards, Assoc. Director of Security and Contract Management, Housing and Conference Services

Betsy Robinson, Director of Facilities Services, Facilities & Real Estate Services

Lynn M. Rotoli, Area Manager, Facilities & Real Estate Services

Susan Smith, Associate Director, Office of College Houses & Academic Services

Ken Stewart, Area Manager, Facilities & Real Estate Services

Alan Zuino, Associate Director, Building Operations, Housing and Conference Services

 • MAGPI (Mid-Atlantic GigaPoP in Philadelphia for Internet2) Team

For providing Internet2 ultra high speed connectivity, technical support, and advance application assistance to educational and cultural organizations throughout the tri-state area, increasing teaching and research capabilities for these groups while reducing the cost for this much needed program for Penn.

Jeff Coke, IT Project Leader/MAGPI Sr. Engineer, ISC

Chris Cook, Senior IT Project Leader, ISC

Jeff Edwards, NOC Mgr. Networking & Telecomm., ISC

Shumon Huque, Lead Engineer, Network Eng. & Serv., ISC

Jennifer Oxenford, Senior IT Project Leader, ISC

David Mongeluzi, Senior Project Leader, ISC

Heather Weisse, IT Project Leader, ISC

Deke Kassabian, IT Senior Director, ISC

Michael Palladino, Associate Vice President, ISC

Greg Palmer, MAGPI, Executive Director, ISC

Gates H. Rhodes, Associate Director, ISC

Mark Wehrle, IT Technical Director, Network Operations, ISC

Awards Ceremony and Reception

We invite you to join us on Tuesday, April 4 for the 2006 Models of Excellence Award Ceremony and Reception! This celebration of staff member achievements will be held from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. in the Annenberg Center’s Zellerbach Theater. All are welcome to attend as we learn about some of the remarkable accomplishments that have taken place on campus this year, and meet the individuals whose creativity, tenacity, and leadership made them possible. We hope you can be there to help us honor this year’s winners.

Formal invitations with details will be mailed in March. If you would like to be added to the invitation list, please send your contact information, including intramural address, to QOWL@hr.upenn.edu. If you have any questions about the program or award ceremony and reception, please go to the Models of Excellence website at www.hr.upenn.edu/quality/models/default.asp or contact Pat Zebley at (215) 898-1012.


2006 Selection Committee

Craig R. Carnaroli, Executive Vice President              

John J. Heuer, Vice President for Human Resources                           

Richard Gelles, Dean, School of Social Policy & Practices                

Neville Strumpf, Chair, Faculty Senate                                               

Felicia Bing, Co-Chair, Weekly Paid Professional Staff Assembly      

Adam Sherr, Chair, Penn Professional Staff Assembly                   

Leslie Mellet, Office of the President                                                  

Lois Chiang, Office of the Provost

Ramin Sedehi, Office of the Dean, SAS 

Valerie Swain-Cade McCoullum, Vice Provost for University Life      

Chris Blickley, Former Models Winner

Mary Lee Brown, Former Models Winner                 

Suzanne Burke, Former Models Winner 

Anamaria Cobo de Paci, Former Models Winner

James F. Johnson, Former Models Winner

Rosey Nissley, Former Models Winner 

Barbara Murray, Former Models Winner

Steve Stines, Former Models Winner

Gary Truhlar, Former Models Winner

Cathy Von Elm, Former Models Winner 

Paul Weidner, Former Models Winner

Marilyn Kraut, Ex-Officio                                                                 





  Almanac, Vol. 52, No. 23, February 21, 2006


February 21, 2006
Volume 52 Number 23


top of page
Back to Contents page