Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors and Other Things

  • Academy of Arts & Sciences Fellows
  • American Academy of Microbiology
  • International College of Dentists
  • New Investigator Award
  • National Bioethics Organization
  • Academy of Arts & Sciences Fellows

    At an induction ceremony on October 8, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted Dr. Gideon Dreyfuss, Isaac Norris Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, and Dr. Madeleine M. Joullie, professor of chemistry into its 225th class of Fellows. The 196 Fellows and 17 Foreign Honorary Members are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs. New Fellows and Honorary Foreign Members are nominated and elected by current members of the Academy.

    American Academy of Microbiology

    Three professors have been elected Fellows in the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM): Dr. Mehmet F. Daldal, professor of biology, Dr. Craig B. Thompson, professor of cancer biology and Dr. Jeffrey N. Weiser, professor of pediatrics and microbiology. They were elected in recognition of their scientific achievement and original contributions. The AAM is the leadership group of the American Society for Microbiology; its mission is to recognize scientific excellence, as well as foster knowledge and understanding in the microbiological sciences.

    International College of Dentists

    Margorie Jeffcoat

    Dental Medicine’s Morton Amsterdam Dean Marjorie Jeffcoat has been inducted as a Fellow of the International College of Dentists (ICD). The ICD is a worldwide honorary dental association dedicated to the recognition of outstanding professional achievement, service, and the continued progress of the profession of dentistry. This year’s new U.S. Fellows were inducted at a convocation held on October 7 during the American Dental Association Annual Session in Philadelphia.

    “It is a great honor to become part of the International College of Dentists and join with colleagues from throughout the United States and around the world in continuing to strengthen dental medicine,” said Dean Jeffcoat.

    Incorporated in 1928, the ICD was formed to advance the science and art of dentistry and to bring together the outstanding members of the dental profession to promote the exchange of dental knowledge and the growth of the profession worldwide. In addition to the U.S. Section, there are 12 other membership sections around the world. The ICD membership totals more than 10,000 with approximately 6,000 members in the United States and 4,000 international members.

    New Investigator Award

    Thomas Cappola

    Dr. Thomas Cappola, assistant professor of medicine at the Penn Cardiovascular Institute and a cardiologist and heart failure specialist at UPHS has won the Jay N. Cohn New Investigator Award in Clinical/Integrative Physiology. The award is given out annually–as one of three award competitions–at the Heart Failure Society of America (HFSA) yearly meeting. These awards are to recognize research excellence in young investigators. Cash prizes were awarded, based on the abstract presentation. Dr. Cappola’s presentation was on a novel approach to analyze cardiac gene transcription in human subjects with advanced heart failure.



    National Bioethics Organization

    Paul Root Wolpe

    Dr. Paul Root Wolpe, Senior Fellow at the Center for Bioethics and a professor in the department of psychiatry, has been elected the President of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities (ASBH). The ASBH is the national professional organization for scholars in bioethics and the medical humanities.

    ASBH has over 1,600 members, including physicians, nurses, social scientists, legal scholars, historians, and philosophers who study the ethical, social, legal, and historical issues in medical ethics and the medical humanities.

    Dr. Wolpe will serve as President-elect for a year, and will officially assume the role of President in October, 2006. He stressed three themes for his tenure. First, the ASBH is a society of diverse opinions and approaches and it should encourage those with minority or contrary opinions. Second, new members from diverse fields should be recruited to help ensure that ASBH remains a vital organization. Third, ASBH needs to support and mentor young members of the profession.



      Almanac, Vol. 52, No. 9, October 25, 2005


    October 25, 2005
    Volume 52 Number 9


    top of page
    Back to Contents page