Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


School of Medicine Awards

A dozen faculty members of the School of Medicine  have been selected to receive awards for their excellence in teaching.

N. Prak


Dr. Nina Luning Prak, assistant professor of pathology & laboratory medicine, has received The Leonard Berwick Memorial Teaching Award.  She is described as “a tremendous role model to all of the pathology students and especially for women considering a career that combines clinical and research opportunities.” A student of hers observes, “By combining excellent core curricular teaching and a genuine curiosity about basic science with an exemplary model of academic professionalism, Dr. Prak has functioned as a triple threat for resident education.”

P. Green


Dr. Phillip Green, clinical assistant professor of medicine, is the recipient of the Scott Mackler Award for Excellence in Substance Abuse Teaching. Dr. Green has succeeded Dr. Mackler as lecturer to the medical students on the medical complications of substance abuse. Dr. Green is involved in the clinical care and teaching of the overlapping complications of HIV, substance abuse and other related infections in the inpatient and outpatient settings.

L. Bellini


Dr. Lisa Bellini, associate professor of medicine, received the Robert Dunning Dripps Memorial Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education. Both through her research and the implementation of innovative policies, she has been a local and national leader in facilitating movement to more humane training programs while continuing to ensure that residents receive broad exposure. One of Dr. Bellini’s trainees notes that her “teaching abilities outshine her remarkable talents as a physician, communicator and administrator.”

There were two winners of the Blockley-Osler Award: Dr. Leo McCluskey, assistant professor of neurology and Dr. Mary Catherine Harris, associate professor of pediatrics.

L. McCluskey


Dr. McCluskey has developed a loyal following among the residents and fellows to whom he has imparted not only his extensive knowledge of neuromuscular disease, but also his passion for the analysis of the complexities of caring for patients with chronic illness. He is “an exemplary physician role model for both medical students and residents.”

M. Harris


Dr. Harris is known for teaching and role modeling family centered care and compassion. Dr. Harris teaches with a style that is welcomed by any resident. Her gentle nature encourages residents to think independently and develop their own assessments and plans. Dr. Harris “has struck the perfect balance between caring for her patients and teaching young doctors the tools needed to care for those same patients.”

Dr. Charles Dackis, assistant professor of psychiatry, and Dr. Nayyar Iqbal, assistant professor of medicine, received the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching at an Affiliated Hospital.

C. Dackis


Dr. Dackis is described as an “insightful, extremely knowledgeable clinician with a true devotion to teaching.” He is renowned for his tireless emphasis on scientific diligence, dedication to patient care and critical, empirical observations. His “Nuts and Bolts of Psychiatry” sessions have been a most worthwhile experience for students in helping them learn to assess and treat psychiatric problems.

N. Iqbal


Dr. Nayyar Iqbal “is recognized uniformly by attending staff, trainees and medical students as a role model with superb clinical skills and an ability to teach about a variety of endocrine-related diseases.” A student of Dr. Iqbal’s comments that he “maintains the perfect balance between inquiry and explanation.” He works to maximize each trainee’s potential and provide direction.

Dr. Ian Krantz, assistant professor of pediatrics, and  Dr. David Margolis, associate professor of dermatology and epidemiology, are the recipients of the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Basic Science Teaching.

I. Krantz


As a mentor, Dr. Krantz encourages his trainees to become independent investigators and provides the guidance and support for their success.  Dr. Krantz has a unique ability to integrate clinical findings and the underlying basic science. He teaches how to succeed in a clinical environment by being well-rounded in his clinical skills, basic science knowledge and ability to translate research concepts to clinical practice. Dr. Krantz is “a top-notch educator and an outstanding role model for physician-scientists in training.”

D. Margolis


Dr. Margolis is an effective educator across many formats, including lectures and publications. Dr. Margolis always has the time to explain difficult clinical or methodological concepts and always makes sure that these concepts are fully understood. A colleague of Dr. Margolis comments, “He has taught and mentored medical students, residents and young faculty to create  a leading division of dermatoepidemiology.”

M. Lemmon


Dr. Mark A. Lemmon, professor of biochemistry and biophysics, received the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Biomedical Graduate Student Training. Dr. Lemmon’s research interests include signaling by receptor tyrosine kinases from the ErbB/HER family; EGF receptor signaling in Drosophila; membrane recruitment of proteins by phosphoinositide-binding domains, and the role of dynamin-family large GTPases in intracellular trafficking. He is described by students and fellow faculty members as a “truly fine educator, an outstanding lecturer and an invaluable mentor.”

Medical Student Government Awards

Each year the School of Medicine’s graduating class selects the recipients of the Basic Science and Clinical Medical Teaching Awards. The Medical Student Government (MSG) awards are for faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching medical school classes.

H. Davies


Dr. Helen Conrad Davies, professor of microbiology, received the MSG Teaching Award in Basic Science. She was the first female faculty member named to Penn’s microbiology department in 1965, where she has been a full professor since 1982. From 1991-95 she was Penn Med School’s Associate Dean for Student Affairs. This is the 15th time she has won this award. She was a 1977 recipient of the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching.

P. Dabrowski


Dr. G. Paul Dabrowski, assistant professor of surgery, is this year’s recipient of the MSG Teaching Award for Clinical Medical Teaching. In 1998 he became the Director of Medical Student Education for the department of surgery as well as the course director for the required clerkship in Surgery and the elective course in trauma surgery. He has also served as the course director for Frontiers courses in anatomy and surgical critical care.




  Almanac, Vol. 51, No. 30, April 26, 2005


April 26, 2005
Volume 51 Number 30


top of page
Back to Contents page