Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors & Other Things

Honorary Degree: Dr. Gutmann

President Amy Gutmann will receive an honorary degree from the University of Rochester on October 23, 2005. She will also participate in a symposium on the Future of University Education in the 21st Century that day to commemorate the inauguration of Joel Seligman as the 10th president of the University of Rochester.

NIH AIDS Chair: Dr. Douglas

Dr. Steven D. Douglas, professor of pediatrics, and associate chair of academic affairs for pediatrics, School of Medicine, and chief of the section of immunology and director of Clinical Immunology Laboratories at CHOP, has been appointed chair of the AIDS Immunology and Pathogenesis Study Section at the NIH. This section is responsible for the review of grant applications for research into cell-and tissue-level events involved in the development and progression of HIV infections. He will serve a two-year term beginning in July 2005.

AFSP President: Dr. Evans

Dr. Dwight L. Evans, the Ruth Meltzer Professor and chair of the department of psychiatry, School of Medicine, has been elected president of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP). “I look forward to working with the concerned scientists, business and community leaders, and survivors of suicide that make up AFSP to help further the Foundation’s cause,” said Dr. Evans. “The Foundation is uniquely positioned to help marshal the national forces necessary to address death from suicide as a major public health problem.”

Advisory Board: Dr. Batterman

Dr. Steven Batterman, professor emeritus of bioengineering, and a forensic engineering consultant, has been selected to be an advisory board member for the Cyril H. Wecht Institute for Forensic Science and Law at Duquesne University School of Law in Pittsburgh.

AACN Grant: Dr. Strumpf

Dr. Neville Strumpf, Edith Clemmer Steinbright Professor of Gerontology, and Director of the Center for Gerontologic Nursing Science, and her team from the School of Nursing’s Hartford Center received a grant from the  American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN). The grant is awarded to 18 nursing schools across the country to increase the pool of nurses prepared as experts in providing health care to older adults. Funding from the John A. Hartford Foundation of New York provides scholarships for over 70 new graduate students pursuing careers as geriatric advanced practice nurses.

Honorary Fellow: Dr. Possehl

Dr. Gregory L. Possehl, curator of the Asian section, Pennsylvania Museum, and professor of anthropology, was made an Honorary Fellow of the Indian Archaeology Society in recognition of his life-long contribution to India archaeology, especially the study of the enigmatic Harappan Civilization (2500-1900 B.C.). He began his work in Indian archaeology in 1964 and has written numerous books and papers contributing to the understanding of the Indian Subcontinent.

Fulbright Specialist: Dr. Harkavy

Dr. Ira Harkavy, associate vice president and director of the Center for Community Partnerships, has been selected for a Fulbright Senior Specialist Grant in Education at Griffith University, Australia.

Hospital of Choice Award: HUP

HUP has received an American Alliance of Healthcare Providers’ Hospital of Choice Award for 2005. This award recognizes HUP as a hospital that essentially cares about all their patients, as well as overall clinical excellence.



  Almanac, Vol. 51, No. 24, March 15, 2005


March 15, 2005
Volume 51 Number 24


top of page
Back to Contents page