Click for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Forecast


Print This Issue
Front Page
All About Teaching
Subscribe to E-Alamanc!


Honors & Other Things

Mood Disorders Award: Dwight Evans

Dr. Dwight L. Evans, the Ruth Meltzer Professor and chairman of the department of psychiatry, has received the 2004 Award for Research in Mood Disorders from the American College of Psychiatrists. The award honors an individual or an individual whose group has made major contributions to the understanding and treatment of mood disorders. Dr. Evans commented, “Depression has become the number one cause of disability within Western Europe and North America. In the U.S., approximately 20 million people suffer from serious depression and close to one million people attempt suicide each year. In this country, a person dies from suicide every 18 minutes, over 30,000 deaths each year.” The American College of Psychiatrists is a non-profit honorary association of psychiatrists who  have been recognized for their contributions to the profession.

Exemplary Leadership: Peter Conn

Interim Provost Peter Conn has been awarded the Exemplary Leadership Award by the Greater Philadelphia Region Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation. This award is given “for promoting innovative strategies and initiatives to increase the success of underrepresented students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics education.”

The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation, a national initiative sponsored by the National Science Foundation, was named for Senator Louis Stokes in recognition of his contributions toward improving the lives of all Americans and ensuring the full participation of members of minority groups.

Warren Lewis Award: Warren Seider

W. Seider

Dr. Warren D. Seider, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has received the Warren K. Lewis Award for Contributions to Chemical Engineering Education from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). The award was presented jointly to Dr. Seider and Dr. J. D. Seader, professor emeritus of chemical engineering at the University of Utah,  for “careers dedicated to extraordinary educational and research contributions in process systems engineering, especially recognizing their textbooks on process and product design.”

Rowing Sculpture: Elizabeth Doering

Ms. Elizabeth Hoak Doering, lecturer in fine arts, teaching figure sculpture and 3-D design in the School of Design, has been selected to create a sculpture for the front of the Penn Boathouse on Kelly Drive. The sculpture will be a tribute to the oarsman and coach Joe Burk, Penn’s rowing coach, 1958-1971. The sculpture will be a 4 foot by 5 foot bas relief portrait and will be cast in bronze. A spring dedication is planned.

Modern Language: Thadious Davis

Dr. Thadious M. Davis, professor of English,  received honorable mention for her work, Games of Property: Law, Race, Gender and Faulkner’s Go Down, Moses (Duke University Press), from the Modern Language Association. The award was for distinguished scholarship in English, comparative literature and foreign languages.

Woman of Distinction: Judith Coche

J. Coche

Dr. Judith Coche, clinical associate professor of psychology in psychiatry at the School of Medicine, has been named a 2004 Woman of Distinction by the Philadelphia Business Journal and the National Association of Women Business Owners. She was one of 25 women to be recognized with this honor. She is founder of the Coche Center—one of the first women-owned non-medical mental health practices on the East Coast. “I started the Coche Center in 1978, and with my first husband, we built a practice in Rittenhouse Square with a branch to serve Cape May County. We wanted to give back to the communities that had supported our careers.”

13 Elected to Pediatric Societies

Thirteen faculty members of the department of pediatrics who practice at CHOP have been selected for membership in two pediatric societies.

Elected into the American Pediatric Society are: Dr. Louis Bell, professor of pediatrics; Dr. Rashmin Savini, associate professor of pediatrics, division of neonatology; Dr. Rebecca Simmons, assistant professor of pediatrics, division of neonatology; and Dr. Virginia Stallings, professor of pediatrics.

New members of the Society for Pediatric Research are: Dr. Evaline Alessandrini, assistant professor of pediatrics: Dr. Anna (Christina) Bergqvist, assistant professor of neurology; Dr. Susan Coffin, assistant professor of pediatrics; Dr. Elizabeth Goldmuntz, associate professor of pediatrics; Dr. Stephan Grupp, assistant professor of pediatrics; Dr. Ian Krantz, assistant professor of pediatrics; Dr. Scott Lorch, assistant professor of pediatrics, Dr. John Maris, associate professor of pediatrics and Dr. Kathryn Maschoff, clinical associate attending neonatologist.

School of Medicine’s Awards of Excellence

The following are recipients of the School of Medicine’s 2004 Awards of Excellence.

Dr. Gregory G. Ginsberg, associate professor of medicine, and director of endoscopic services, the Luigi Mastroianni, Jr., Clinical Innovator Award.

Dr. R. Michael Buckley, Jr., chair of the department of medicine and Chief Medical Officer at Pennsylvania Hospital, the Alfred Stengel Award Health System Champion Award.

Dr. Larry R. Kaiser, the John Rhea Barton Professor and chairman of the department of surgery, the I.S. Ravdin Master Clinician Award.

Dr. Allison Oler, director of internal medicine for women’s health, and clinical assistant professor of medicine, Sylvan Eisman Outstanding Primary Care Physician Award.

Dr. Daniel G. Haller, professor of medicine, The Louis Duhring Outstanding Clinical Specialist Award.

Dr. Philip L. Cohen, professor of medicine, and Dr. Terri Finkel, associate professor of pediatrics, The Lady Barbara Colyton Autoimmune Research Award.

Dr. Craig B. Thompson, Scientific Director of the Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute and chair of the department of cancer biology,  Stanley N. Cohen Biomedical Research Award.

Dr. Jean Bennett, associate professor of ophthalmology, William Osler Patient Oriented Research Award.

Dr. Harold I. Feldman, professor of medicine and epidemiology and director of the clinical epidemiology unit of the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Samuel Martin Health Evaluation Sciences Research Award.

Dr. Mark L. Kahn, assistant professor of cardiology, Michael S. Brown Junior Faculty Research Award.

Dr. David A. Asch, the Robert D. Eilers Professor of Medicine and Health Care Management and Economics, Arthur Asbury Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award.

Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing

The Center for the Study of the History of Nursing has been renamed for the late author and School of Nursing faculty member Dr. Barbara Bates (Almanac January 14, 2003). Its new name is the Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing.

“Barbara Bates was a friend, teacher, and physician extraordinaire,” noted Professor Emerita Joan Lynaugh, a co-founder of the Center. William H. Helfand, chair of The Barbara Bates Center Advisory Board remembered Dr. Bates as, “a true friend of nursing,” remarking, “Neither of us trained as nurses, but we shared an appreciation of the impact nurses have had on health and wellness in society across time.” The Center has grown to include 1,500 books, 1,500 cubic feet of archival materials, and  over 5,000 photos. “We are giving voice to nurses and to the discipline of nursing. We cannot think of the present and forge forward into the future without being mindful of nursing’s history,” said Nursing Dean, Dr. Afaf Meleis.

Bates Center

At the dedication, (l. to r.) Dr. Lynaugh; Mr. Helfand; Dr. Karen Buhler-Wilkerson, professor, director, and Center founder; and Dean Meleis.



  Almanac, Vol. 51, No. 16, January 11, 2005


January 11, 2005
Volume 51 Number 16


Back to Contents page